Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

London Orbital by Guy Adams #Review #SciFi #Series

Series:  The Change  #1

Title: London Orbital

Author: Guy Adams

Publisher: Rebellion, Solaris Books

Published: July 13th, 2017

Pages: 122

Rating: 4/5

This is the first in a six part novella series and certainly puts the reader straight into this strange, post-apocalyptical world. The lead character awakes on a road surrounded by stationary vehicles and can’t remember who he is, anything about his life or what has happened – he can’t even remember his name and doesn’t recognise his reflection but he does know everything has changed. In his coat pocket he finds a notebook and assumes it belongs to himself so takes the owner’s name – Howard Phillips – for his own. He needs food and water so sets out to explore his new reality. . . .

Get ready for life as we know it to have changed dramatically. There are killer pigeons -reminiscent of scenes from the Alfred Hitchcock movie, ‘The Birds’ – together with monsters defying description and horrors galore in this fast paced story. Howard does get to meet other survivors – some of whom don’t survive for much longer! It is a dark story, with danger all around the grim setting but there is also a sprinkling of humour throughout, especially in the banter and nicknames of the bikers he meets. Hubcap is the person who introduces Howard to the bikers group and terror follows. . . .

This is a short but action packed near future story written with a mix of suspense, humour and horror. It is a page turner and I really want to know what happens in the sequels! My favourite inspirational quote from this is:

“People die. A lot of them these days. The only way to deal with that is to work hard at living …. So sod off out of here and get on with it!”

Sounds like a positive philosophy for life! Make the most of your life and enjoy living 🙂

I requested and was given a copy of this book via NetGalley and this is my honest opinion after choosing to read it.


Where were you when the world changed? 

One minute everything was fine and the next…they arrived. Those that saw them died instantly. The unlucky ones survived. Now unimaginable things straight out of nightmares roam the streets of our towns and cities. Nothing is impossible. Nowhere is safe. And no one can escape The Change…

Howard doesn’t know where he is or how he got there. He’s not even sure his name is Howard. But he knows his in trouble. 

Alone on a stretch of motorway jammed with broken down cars full of corpses and strange creatures, Howard falls in with a motorbike gang living in a nearby service station.

But even The Kingdom of the Welcome Break can’t keep him safe. Something is moving between the rows of cars, something that used to be human but now clanks with metal, hisses with hydraulics, and is always on the lookout for new parts…

The first book in a 6 book novella series, aimed at the Young Adult market, and featuring protagonists trapped in a world irrevocably changed.

Buy Links:    Amazon (UK)         Amazon (US)     

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: