splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Christmas at the Dancing Duck by Daisy James #Review #Funny #Romance #Festive

Title: Christmas at the Dancing Duck

Author: Daisy James

Publisher: HQ Digital

Published: October 23rd, 2017

Pages: 384

Rating: 5/5

This author has created her own version or aroma vision in this delectable festive romantic comedy. It opens with descriptions of the heroine, Kirstie Harrison, presenting the first in a planned series of live television broadcasts of festive foods being cooked in Kirstie’s Kitchen. The mouth watering descriptions and visual images created by the author’s skilled wordcraft paint pictures and delightful aromas in the reader’s imagination. That’s just before everything starts to go wrong! Kirstie no longer loves the festive aromas as they evoke painful memories and tragedy. When she admits this to the guest chef after the show has been filmed she is vociferous in her condemnation of all things Christmas and this is, unknown to her. transmitted to the viewers. She is promptly replaced and travels to her family home, The Dancing Duck in Cranbury, where her sister and family live and work.

Needless to say, fate is about to intervene again and Kirstie ends up helping to run the many festive events planned for the village that are being hosted in The Dancing Duck . . . . alongside her first love and ex-boyfriend, Josh Turner, who is the manager of the Pub. This will be the last time her family will have such a key role as financial difficulties mean they are selling The Dancing Duck, with the contracts being exchanged in the New Year. The person purchasing the establishment is Miles Morgan, a rich lawyer from London. As the two men connect with her life, deciding which one to favour will have a significant impact on her future. Should she reconnect with her first love or move on to a new one?

The story is packed with great characters, humour, festive food, village fun and romance. It is a thoroughly enjoyable read and I loved escaping into the charming community of Cranberry, where people work together to help each other and create a fantastic festive season for all. This is another winner from one of my favourite authors – I can never wait to read her books so when a new one comes available it jumps straight to the top of my to be read pile! If you haven’t tried any of her books yet and, like me, love well written romantic comedies to brighten your life, I recommend you grab this or any of her earlier books. I’ll certainly continue to look out for more by this author in future and advise you to do so, too!

I requested and received a copy of this novel, via NetGalley. This is my honest review after choosing to read it.

Synopsis

A wonderfully festive romantic read to curl up with this Christmas.

The most wonderful time of the year!

Ever since tragedy struck a few years ago, television presenter Kirstie Harrison has hated Christmas – but she didn’t intend to tell the whole country live on air! She needs to lie low for a few weeks, so she’s finally coming home for the holidays, determined that this Christmas will be different…

Staying at the family pub, The Dancing Duck, means it’s impossible not to get caught up in the little village of Cranbury’s festive traditions. And it’s equally impossible to avoid her ex, Josh Turner! Kirstie is torn between making this the best Christmas yet and knowing that she can’t stay forever.

Maybe it’s time to make a holiday wish of her own…?

Perfect for fans of Christie Barlow, Debbie Johnson and Cathy Bramley.

Buy Links:    Amazon (UK)         Amazon (US)        Barnes and Noble

One comment on “Christmas at the Dancing Duck by Daisy James #Review #Funny #Romance #Festive

  1. daisyjamesblog
    October 24, 2017

    Thanks ever so much for the wonderful review, Elaine. I’m thrilled you enjoyed it as much as I enjoyed writing it – and researching all the delicious recipes! Love Daisyx

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: