splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Sunshine and Secrets by Daisy James #Review #Romance #Contemporary #Mystery

Series: The Paradise Cookery School #1

Title: Sunshine and Secrets

Author: Daisy James

Publisher: Canelo

Pages: 276

Published: March 19th, 2018

Rating: 5/5

This is a heartwarming, tasty treat from Daisy James. There’s beautiful imagery painting pictures of the location, characters and events, bringing the story vividly to life in the reader’s imagination. One of my favourite examples is:

“Here in St Lucia, the Pitons wore nature’s cloak of dappled sunlight, their lush flanks shimmering in the breeze like an emerald waterfall.”

WOW – hope that helps you see what I mean!

Millie Harper has had a dramatic break up and is still suffering from the fallout when she’s off to holiday with her Mum. Whilst waiting at the airport she is contacted by her sister and asked to travel to St Lucia instead to oversee the setting up of ‘The Paradise Cookery School’. This is a chance in a lifetime and she jumps at the opportunity. However, being dropped off by taxi at the bottom of a hill to climb to the School in the ‘liquid sunshine’ makes this a somewhat soaking wet introduction to the locale! Then get ready for the local workmen to have a somewhat relaxed idea about actually working and you’re in for some hilarious, heartwarming events in a superb setting and with many fantastic characters. Add in the mystery of appearing and disappearing crates of cocoa pods and the drama filled encounters with the estate manager and she’s in for an interesting stay! Can she get the school ready on time? What is happening to the cocoa pods? Is she ready for a new romance?

I thoroughly enjoyed escaping into this luscious story. The descriptions of food had my mouth watering, the beautiful landscape had me dreaming of warmer climes (it is snowing here at the moment!) and the mystery was perplexing! There are also elements of suspense, just to add to this delectable recipe for a fun read set in paradise. I thoroughly enjoyed it and can’t wait to read more in this series and by this author!

I requested and received a copy of this novel via NetGalley. This is my honest review after choosing to read it.

Synopsis :

When newly heartbroken, Michelin-starred chef Millie Harper is offered a job overseeing the setup of The Paradise Cookery School she jumps at the opportunity. Leaving London and her memories of heartbreak behind she hops on a plane to the hilltop cocoa plantation in St Lucia.

But this beautiful island break might be more work than she’d expected….  With only two weeks to have the kitchen installed, cocoa pods going missing from the plantation and the notoriously relaxed island workmen to contend with, she’s going to need some help. Gruff but charming estate manager Zach Baxter, is only too happy to offer his opinions. As the two clash heads can they remain focussed on the job in hand and get the cookery school finished in time?

Pack your bags and jump right into the sun and secrets of The Paradise Cookery School. Perfect for fans of Sarah Morgan, Jenny Oliver and Kat French.

Buy Links:    Amazon (UK)         Amazon (US)        Barnes and Noble

4 comments on “Sunshine and Secrets by Daisy James #Review #Romance #Contemporary #Mystery

  1. daisyjamesblog
    March 19, 2018

    Thanks ever so much for the wonderful review, Elaine. I’m so pleased you enjoyed Millie’s story – I’m looking forward to hearing what you think of her next adventure at The Paradise Cookery School – Confetti & Confusion. Love Daisy x

    Liked by 1 person

    • bicted
      March 19, 2018

      Thanks for writing such a brilliant book, Daisy, I truly loved it and can’t wait to read the sequel(s) – hope there are many of them!

      Like

  2. Pingback: My NetGalley Haul This Week | splashesintobooks

  3. Pingback: Confetti and Confusion by @daisyjamesbooks #Review #Romance #Contemporary #Series #BlogTour | splashesintobooks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: