splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

A Grand Old Time by @JudyLeighWriter #Review #Romance #Contemporary #Funny

Title: A Grand Old Time 

Author: Judy Leigh  

Publisher: Avon Books 

Pages: 369

Published: April 3rd, 2018

Rating: 5/5

What a brilliant adventure this proved to be – escaping from a care home, 75 year old Evie Gallagher sets out on a journey that will change her life and, inadvertently, that of her son and daughter-in-law, too! Evie had been depressed and given up on life after the death of her husband but she suddenly realises how boring life is in the care home she initially moved to in the hope of having more company. Unfortunately most of that company spends their lives sleeping! That’s when she packs her bags, sneaks out and catches a bus at the start of her wanderings. The journey will have her travelling to Dublin, Liverpool and France, meeting people on her way. Some aren’t great folk but Evie has a way of influencing them as her confidence and zest for life – and love – is rekindled through her travels and the people she endeavours to help.

Evie’s only child is her son, Brendan. He loves his Mum but his marriage isn’t what it used to be, it is too routine and the couple seem to have lost their joie de vivre together. However, setting off to ‘rescue’ Evie and bring her back home again takes this couple on their own journey to a very different HEA than they’d expected when they started!

I can’t believe this is a debut novel! It is a heartwarming, heartbreaking, funny and poignant story, taking the reader virtually along with Evie on the journey both physical and emotional. It shows that life doesn’t have to follow a set plan and sometimes shaking up expectations can prove life changing – rebellion rules! Although this could have been fraught with danger, things work out well and I found it an engaging, entertaining read, a great reminder that life is for living and not for vegetating to meet the expectations of others! There are plenty of twists and turns and I suspect this is one of those stories that I’ll remembered for years to come with a grin at the memories it evokes. I hope it’ll inspire me to have adventures when I’m 75, too, though maybe not quite so unplanned!

I requested and was lucky enough to be given a copy of this novel, via NetGalley, with no obligation. This is my honest review of the book after choosing to read it.

Synopsis :

A funny and heartwarming debut for fans of Rachel Joyce and Cathy Hopkins.

Evie Gallagher is regretting her hasty move into a Dublin care home. She may be seventy-five and recently widowed, but she’s absolutely not dead yet.

And so, one morning, while the rest of Sheldon Lodge is asleep, Evelyn walks out the front door and never looks back. So begins a road trip that will take Evie first to Liverpool, then on to Brittany, where she buys a camper van and heads south on a Great Adventure.

But not everyone thinks Great Adventures are appropriate for women of Evie’s age, least of all her son Brendan and his wife Maura, who set off in pursuit, following a trail of puzzling text messages.

But when Brendan and Maura finally catch up with Evie, there are shocks in store for all of them … because while Brendan may have given up on life and love, Evie Gallagher certainly has not.

Buy Links:    Amazon (UK)         Amazon (US)       

3 comments on “A Grand Old Time by @JudyLeighWriter #Review #Romance #Contemporary #Funny

  1. carhicks
    April 5, 2018

    This sounds quite fun. Getting older all the time, i think i will check this out. Thanks once again for enticing me to add another to my TBR. Great review Elaine.

    Like

    • bicted
      April 5, 2018

      It definitely is a fun read, Carla, I hope you enjoy it as much as I did . . . . and that we can both be a rebellious and adventurous in later life!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Information

This entry was posted on April 3, 2018 by in Adult and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: