splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

The Little Wedding Island by Jaimie Admans #Review #Romance #Contemporary #Funny

Title: The Little Wedding Island

Author: Jaimie Admans

Publisher: HQ Digital

Pages: 384

Published: March 2nd, 2018

Rating: 4.5/5

This book is appropriately tagged as ‘the perfect holiday beach read for 2018’  – mind you, you really don’t have to be on the beach to enjoy it!

This is a heartwarming story involving twitter wars, dreams, competitions and superstitions, all associated with weddings! When the company producing the magazine that Bonnie Haskett works for gives them the challenge of finding the story to save it, she is sent to Edelweiss Island to investigate their claims that no one who has married there has ever subsequently got divorced. On the journey to the island she ends up helping a fellow passenger who suffers from sea sickness. It is only on arrival at the island that she discovers he is a rival reporter – the one she’s had twitter wars with and the one who his magazine have sent to outshine her report! However, the islanders don’t like reporters and so the two rivals agree to pretend to be engaged and visiting to see if they want to get married on the island….. Oh what a tangled web they’re weaving!

This is a lovely romantic comedy that will bring a grin to your face as you read it. The couple are so opposite in so many ways that they’re bound to clash and their interactions are frequently hilarious. Add in their rivalry, the superb island characters – including a delightful puppy -and you’re in for a real treat. It is a delightful read and Edelweiss is a superb setting. I thoroughly enjoyed escaping into this book and suspect anyone who enjoys contemporary romance with plenty of angst and humour will also love this book, even if they aren’t on the beach when they read it.

I requested and was given a copy of this novel, via NetGalley, with no obligation. This is my honest review of the book after choosing to read it.

Synopsis:

‘From the very first chapter I knew this book was going to be special!’ Dash Fan on The Chateau of Happily-Ever-Afters.

‘Will you… pretend to marry me?’

Bonnie Haskett loves everything about weddings. She loves her job at a national bridal magazine and even has a deposit down on her dream dress. The only problem? She doesn’t have a fiancé!

So when Bonnie is sent to Edelweiss Island, known as ‘The Little Wedding Island’, it’s a dream come true. She’s heard the rumours, every wedding that takes place in the tiny chapel ends in a happy-ever-after.

But there’s a catch! Investigating the story, Bonnie needs to pose as a blushing bride – and the only man up for posing as her groom is her arch rival (and far too handsome for his own good) journalist Rohan Carter…

A gorgeously uplifting summer romance. Perfect for fans of Holly Martin and Caroline Roberts.

Buy Links:    Amazon (UK)         Amazon (US)        Barnes and Noble

One comment on “The Little Wedding Island by Jaimie Admans #Review #Romance #Contemporary #Funny

  1. carhicks
    May 2, 2018

    Nice review Elaine. I don’t have a beach, but sounds like one I would enjoy reading by the pool this summer.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: