splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

The Summer House of Happiness by Daisy James #Review #Romance #Contemporary

Title: The Summer House of Happiness by Daisy James

Author: Daisy James

Publisher: HQ Digital

Pages: 408

Published: May 31st, 2018

Rating: 5/5

This book is tagged as “A fabulously feel-good holiday romance!” and it really lives up to that tag.

When I spotted this new book from Daisy James, I just had to request it – I love escaping into her heartwarming novels! This is a delightful story of deciding what is really important in your life and being brave enough to make decisions that help you keep them central to your well being. In this story Gabbie Andrews has worked as a perfumer at the House of Gasnier on the French Riviera but when she is offered a promotion to work in the company’s Parisian laboratory she quits as this would mean she would lose contact with customers and that’s something she really enjoys. She returns to her Devon home and discovers that all is not as well as she had thought and more life changing choices are on the cards for her.

With people seeking her aromatherapy skills, problems in her family’s garage, a handsome new mechanic – Max – to whom she’s attracted, the accident prone romantic Will and friends old and new in this lovely community spirited story. There are so many great characters, a healthy dose of fun and laughter amongst the requisite drama and a little mystery, It is a fun read that had me laughing out loud at times and anxious at others. I loved the information incorporated into the story about the use of ingredients in aromatherapy and will definitely explore some aspects of it later. I have no hesitation in highly recommending this – and any other book by this talented author – to anyone who enjoys escaping into a small community with great characters, a touch of angst but a lot of fun, love and laughter in a delightful romantic comedy.

I requested and was given a copy of this novel, via NetGalley, with no obligation. This is my honest review of the book after choosing to read it.

Synopsis:

Love is in the air…

Gabbie Andrews thought that her dreams of becoming a professional perfumer at the prestigious House of Gasnier on the French Riviera were finally coming true. There’s nothing she loves more than creating the perfect fragrance for her delighted customers…

So when her boss sends her to work in a laboratory in Paris for six months, she quits on the spot! Returning to her home in Devon, she soon finds that her herbal remedies are in more demand than she ever imagined.

And when she bumps into Max, the gorgeous mechanic who works at her father’s garage, she realizes that life might just be about to change forever!

Perfect for fans of Christie Barlow, Debbie Johnson and Cathy Bramley.

Buy Links:    Amazon (UK)         Amazon (US)        Barnes and Noble

5 comments on “The Summer House of Happiness by Daisy James #Review #Romance #Contemporary

  1. carhicks
    June 1, 2018

    Another fun, feel good book and another good review. You sure get some good ones to read and review.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bicted
      June 1, 2018

      I love books by this author! It is still up on NetGalley, Carla – highly recommend you give it a go! She also has another one coming out in July – Confetti and Confusion via Canelo, too. I haven’t read that one yet but do have an ARC on my Kindle ready to read!

      Like

      • carhicks
        June 1, 2018

        I was declined for that one, but I got the one from Canelo.

        Like

  2. daisyjamesblog
    June 1, 2018

    A massive thank you for a wonderful review of the Summerhouse of Happiness. I’m thrilled you enjoyed it. I had fun doing the research, especially with some of the interesting things I discovered. My office (shed) now smells amazing! Love Daisyx

    Like

    • bicted
      June 1, 2018

      My pleasure! I hope it is obvious that I loved reading it. I’m intrigued on which oils you’ve use to make your office smell amazing!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: