splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

The Cornish Village School by Kitty Wilson #Review #BlogTour #Contemporary

Title:The Cornish Village School – Breaking the Rules

Author: Kitty Wilson

Genre:Women’s Fiction

Release Date:11th June 2018

Publisher:Canelo

My Review:

This is a story I found very easy to connect with … not surprising in some ways as I’ve spent over thirty years as a primary school teacher working in village schools! I loved hearing about some of the great characters in the school and community of Penmenna – it brought to mind several that I’ve met over the years and definitely put a smile on my face.

The politics of schools are the driving force in this story as Rosy Winter strives to keep the school she is head of open despite the machinations of a local political leader. As the teachers, parents and school community work together to thwart the closure plans help comes from an unexpected quarter – Rosy’s new neighbour, the handsome gardening show presenter, Matt. Now The Rule that Rosy has – not to date anyone in her village – is in serious danger of being broken as the attraction between Rosy and Matt grows. Can she learn to trust him with her heart? Can they work together to save the school?

This is definitely a fun romance which had me laughing out loud at times. It does hint at the reality of teaching today – especially when Rosy ends up with lots of hearts to cut out! However the imposed stresses of the role are somewhat glossed over, but this is a story and not claiming to be real life so that’s fine. I still thoroughly enjoyed escaping into this delightful community and look forward to reading more stories based in the area and presumably involving some of the same characters again in future.

Many thanks to the publishers for gifting me a copy of this novel, via NetGalley, with no obligation. This is my honest review after choosing to read the book.

Synopsis:

Rosy Winter is definitely not looking for love

Following heartbreak, Rosy has rebuilt her life in the beautiful Cornish village of Penmenna. Now, headmistress of the local school, she is living by The Rule: no dating anyone in the village. Easy right? But Rosy Winter has a new neighbour, handsome gardener Matt.

In Penmenna for his new gardening TV show, this guy next door will do everything he can to persuade her to break her rule and win her heart. Meanwhile, Penmenna Village School is threatened with closure and it’s up to Rosy to rally the local community and #SaveOurSchool. Can she bring her worlds together and accept help from the most unlikely of sources? One thing’s for sure… she won’t be giving up without a fight.

This heartwarming romance is perfect for fans of Tilly Tennant, Holly Martin and A. L. Michael.

 

 

Links to Book:

Amazon (UK)

Kobo (UK)

Google Books (UK)

Apple Books (UK)

Author Bio:

Kitty Wilson has lived in Cornwall for the last twenty-five years having been dragged there, against her will, as a stroppy teen. She is now remarkably grateful to her parents for their foresight and wisdom – and that her own children aren’t as hideous. She spends most of her time welded to the keyboard or hiding out at the beach and has a penchant for very loud music, equally loud dresses and romantic heroines who speak their mind.

Author Photo:

Author Social Media Links

Twitter: @@KittyWilson23

2 comments on “The Cornish Village School by Kitty Wilson #Review #BlogTour #Contemporary

  1. carhicks
    June 21, 2018

    So many great stories coming out of the UK and all about he small villages. I need to move there. Great review Elaine.

    Like

    • bicted
      June 21, 2018

      I agree, there are some delightful “small community” stories being released at the moment and this was one of them – another brilliant one coming on Saturday! As for you needing to move there – I can recommend it from personal experience 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: