Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

The Haunting of Hattie Hastings by Audrey Davis #Review #BookBlitz #Paranormal


The Haunting of Hattie Hastings Part Three: A ghostly and witty romantic comedy
Some people just won’t take death lying down …
Title: The Haunting of Hattie Hastings #3
Author: Audrey Davis
Genre: Romantic Comedy
Publication Date: 30th July 2018
Pages: 101
Potential Trigger Warnings: Death, cancer, grief



My Review:

This is the third and concluding novella in this delightful trilogy. I was lucky enough to be able to read all three stories in sequence and now you can, too, as all three novellas are now available.

In the first novella the readers are introduced to the main characters, the leading couple are Gary and Hattie and their best friend is divorcee, Cat. When Gary is tragically killed whilst putting out the bin for the refuse collectors, Hattie struggles to come to terms with her grief . . . until Gary returns as a ghostly presence who keeps popping up to see and talk to her. However, she now finds it hard to convince her friends that she hasn’t totally lost the plot and isn’t going mad. As she finds out about Gary’s purpose in visiting and that Cat’s cruel ex husband has returned, life is definitely changing for them all!

In the second novella, there are laughs galore as Gary tries to discover just why he’s been allowed to visit Hattie and what his mission is. He can’t control when he turns up in her life and sometimes there are unanticipated consequences to his timing – or lack of it! Not only that but Hattie’s Mum, Rachel, has problems she’s trying to keep secret and Cat’s new relationship with Jamie has her ex-husband determined to get back together with her. The story deals with some serious issues but always with a delightful dash of humour and laughs galore – I couldn’t wait to read the third and final novella, especially after that cliffhanger ending!

In the third and final story, this fantastic feel good read resolves all the issues that developed in the first two novellas in the series. It is another funtastic read with further character development, great storylines and plenty of twists and turns to keep you turning the pages. It is a great finale to the trilogy and I have no hesitation in highly recommending all three parts of this series!

I requested and was given a copy of these novellas. This is my honest review of them after choosing to read them.


Here is the Synopsis for each novella in this series:

Part One (97 pages):

Some people just won’t take death lying down …!
Part one of a fun-filled but moving romantic comedy about life, death and letting go.
Hattie Hastings is happily married, even if husband Gary drives her up the wall at times. When tragedy strikes, she is left alone and heartbroken, with only an assortment of family and friends to prop her up.Struggling to cope, she is left reeling when her deceased other half returns to haunt her, popping up at the most inappropriate times, with an unorthodox way of flagging his arrival.

Hattie struggles to convince anyone that Gary has returned. Not even her best friend, Cat – now free from the cruel and controlling Stewart – will believe her story.

Why has Gary returned? Will he allow Hattie to find happiness again, or will he stand in the way of any future romance? And what will Cat do when her slimy ex-husband tries to worm his way back into her affections?


Part Two (95 pages):

The story continues … Hattie is used to her deceased husband Gary dropping in and out of her life. His timing might not always be great, but at least he’s still around.

Although – when Hattie tentatively tries a spot of dating – his interference isn’t entirely welcome.

Best friend Cat is lapping up her new relationship with teacher Jamie, but ex-husband Stewart isn’t prepared to fade into the background.

Hattie’s mother Rachel faces a daunting battle, one she doesn’t want to burden family and friends with. But there’s someone waiting in the wings who might be more than a shoulder to cry on.

Gary still doesn’t know what his mission on earth is, and spirit guide Clarence isn’t offering any clues. Will an encounter with another provide him with answers, or put Hattie in an impossible situation?

Prepare for more laughs and tears in the second instalment of a trilogy that takes a darkly comic look at life … and the afterlife. 


Part Three (101 pages):

Nothing lasts forever … Could it be that Gary’s time on earth is coming to an end? His visits are less frequent and his visibility is fading fast. But Gary still has a mission to accomplish, which involves Hattie and her ability to pass on a heart-rending message. And there’s something else he needs to do, but spirit guide Clarence isn’t proving very helpful.

Hattie’s best friend Cat’s ex-husband is determined to prove that he deserves another chance, but do leopards really change their spots?

Times are tough for Hattie’s mother Rachel, but where there’s life, there’s hope …

Meanwhile, is there someone already in Hattie’s life who can help her move on when it’s finally time to say goodbye?

Get your tissues at the ready – both for laughter and tears – with the final instalment of a trilogy that has been hailed as ‘brilliant’, ‘hilarious’, and ‘a great feel-good read’.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: