splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

The Halloween Parade 
by Matt Beighton #Review #childrensbooks #funny #BlogTour

Series: Monstacademy #1

Title: The Halloween Parade 

Author: Matt Beighton

Illustrator: Amalia Rendon 

Release Date: 12th September 2018

Genre: MG, Children’s book

Publisher: Green Monkey Press

Pages: 124

 

My Review:

What a brilliant, funny children’s story this turned out to be! When Trixie Grimble’s school closes, her Mum and Stepdad decide to enrol her at Monroe’s School for the Different (Monstacademy), a decidedly different boarding school, so her Mum has more time to train her kittens to become a cat circus! Now, not only is the school a boarding school but Trixie is the first ordinary, human pupil ever to attend – her peers and teachers there include vampires, werewolves, banshees, ghosts and goblins! It is a hilarious story, packed with humourous incidents and encounters, especially as Trixie is somewhat accident prone. Settling into a new situation, making friends (and enemies), working with others to create a school banner for the Halloween Parade, and being suspicious about what one fellow pupil is up to, all add to the suspense and hilarity in this engaging story.

This story has great characters and is likely to appeal to both boys and girls. The language is child friendly and the chapters make it a great one for both independent and shared reading. There are lovely line illustrations throughout the story, adding to its appeal.  As a primary teacher, I can definitely envisage using this book with children for a variety of discussions and a stimulus for other activities, especially around Halloween or as part of PSHE as well as Literacy. There are three activity pages after the story and a short sequel story about when Trixie returns home for the Christmas holidays ‘The Christmas Cat Circus’. I have no hesitation in highly recommending it as a fun read for children and the young at heart, too, and teachers should definitely check it out! I am really glad this is the start of a whole series of stories based around the Monstacademy and hope to read more from this talented author (and teacher) in future.

I requested and was given a copy of this book without obligation. I chose to read it and this is my honest review after doing so.

P.S. I had posted this review before realising that the author has also made additional resources for teachers – and offers discounts for sets of 6 or more books – check these out on his website at http://mattbeighton.co.uk/schools/

Synopsis:

It’s not every day that a vampire borrows your pencil. When was the last time you sat next to a werewolf in maths?

Meet Trixie Grimble, the newest pupil at Monstacademy. Unfortunately, in a school filled with monsters, she’s the only ordinary girl and when she’s asked to help prepare for the annual Halloween parade, everything starts to go wrong.

Oh, and she’s also been kicked out of her bedroom to make room for a cat circus.

Fans of Jill Murphy and Isla Fisher will adore the silly humour and loveable characters in this delightful modern classic.

Goodreads Link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/36988699-the-halloween-parade

Amazon Link: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Halloween-Parade-Monstacademy-Matt-Beighton/

 

Author Information

Matt Beighton was born somewhere in the midlands in England during the heady days of the 1980s and continues to spend most of his days in the same shire. He is happily married with two young daughters who keep him very busy and suffer through the endless early drafts of his stories.

When he’s not writing, he teaches primary school (Kindergarten to some of you), messes around on canals in his inflatable kayak and supports his beloved Leicester City.

Website: http://mattbeighton.co.uk/

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/mattbeightonauthor

Twttier: http://www.twitter.com/mattbeighton

Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCs9DBOkwtDpnTFBYZXUhUUw

 

Tour Schedule

Monday 17th September:           Belleandthenovel           Donna’s Book Blog

Tuesday 18th September;         Jazzy Book Reviews       OBC Mini Reviewers

Wednesday 19th September:   The Bookish Fairy Blog   Pewter Wolf

Thursday 20th September:       Splashes into Books       Girl Who Sciences

Friday 21st September:               Kirstyes                           A Daydreamer’s Thoughts

Advertisements

One comment on “The Halloween Parade 
by Matt Beighton #Review #childrensbooks #funny #BlogTour

  1. carhicks
    September 21, 2018

    “Monstacademy” I love it. This sounds like one my grandchildren will enjoy when they are a bit older. Lovely review, Elaine.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: