splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

A Very Lucky Christmas by Lilac Mills #Review #Romance #Festive

Title: A Very Lucky Christmas

Author: Lilac Mills

Publisher: Canelo

Published: August 20th, 2018

Rating:

This is like a comedy of errors, full of gaffes, humour and -eventually- true love. Daisy Jones was expecting her boyfriend to propose this Christmas but they end up splitting up and she moves back in with her mother and gran. Her great-gran says she needs to make a Christmas pudding and guides her in making it. However, when eating it, Daisy chokes on the ‘lucky’ sixpence and ends up being rushed to A&E. That’s where she’s treated by Dr Noah Hartley . . . . Somehow they keep meeting but discovering the secret of her ex, losing her job, moving back to her Mother’s home . . . . comparing herself to her “perfect” brother …. there are lots of changes for Daisy but will that sixpence prove to be very lucky or the portent of an even more disastrous year?

This is a fun festive read with laugh out loud incidents and others that are more heartbreaking. It is a story of facing changes, moving on and being willing to take chances. It has a diverse range of characters, the relationships within the Jones family are key to the whole story and this includes Daisy’s sister-in-law, who is initially a stranger but definitely grows on you as you read the story. This is a fun festive read that can be enjoyed whatever the season.

I requested and was gifted a copy of this book via NetGalley. I chose to read it and this is my honest review after doing so.

Synopsis:

Things can’t get worse for Daisy Jones… can they?

Christmas is meant to be the happiest time of year so why is absolutely everything going wrong for Daisy? Reeling from a bad breakup, moving back in with her parents and hounded by trouble at work she really shouldn’t be surprised when things go from bad to worse..and she ends up in A&E!

Her great-grandmother persuaded her to plant a silver sixpence in the Christmas pud for luck but choking on the coin isn’t the ‘change’ she’d wished for. Yet when dashing Dr Noah Hartley saves the day things finally start to look up.

With Christmas Day just around the corner Daisy’s determined to make her own luck…and hopefully bag herself a dishy doc in the process! A heart-warming Christmas romance perfect for fans of Holly Martin, Debbie Johnson and Daisy James

One comment on “A Very Lucky Christmas by Lilac Mills #Review #Romance #Festive

  1. carhicks
    January 3, 2019

    I love those laugh out loud books, add in Christmas and I’m not sure how I missed this one. Nice review Elaine.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: