splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Five Ladies Go Skiing by Karen Aldous

 

Title: Five Ladies Go Skiing

Author: Karen Aldous 

Publisher: HQ Digital

Pages: 315

Published: November 5th, 2018

Rating: 4/5

 

 

The five ladies in this story are all around sixty years old and have been friends for years. However, family commitments, distance and secrets have kept them from all meeting up until they agree to go on holiday for the New Year . . . . and not just any holiday – four of them are going skiing for the first time ever, travelling to beautiful La Tzoumaz, Switzerland to do so, under the guidance of the one remaining member of the quintet who regularly goes skiing! One of the main purposes of this holiday is to help reconnect with Ginny, who has been particularly reticent to share how she is since the untimely death of her husband during the festive season last year and her being made redundant shortly thereafter. Ginny is the obvious one needing support but, as the story progresses, they discover that they all have their own secrets and that life isn’t always as rosey as it may appear for any of them!

This is a heartwarming story of friendship, learning to face your fears and discovering that a trouble shared may well be a trouble halved! Told mainly from the points of view of three of the ladies, it explores relationships, expectations, temptation and love in a laugh out loud adventure on the Nursery slopes with some unexpected twists though not necessarily of the injury kind. The ladies explore the après-ski options and discover more about themselves and each other in this delightful festive read. It is such a lovely change to have more mature main characters and this story shows that age is not a barrier to making changes in your life, facing new adventures and having fun.

I requested and was given a copy of this book, via NetGalley. This is my honest review of the book after choosing to read it.

Synopsis:

Five ladies, one unforgettable trip…

Escape to gorgeous Switzerland this winter with the brand new, uplifting read from Karen Aldous.

When Ginny Watts’ husband passes away, she is left grief-stricken, not only over her husband’s death but the secrets he has left behind…

Luckily for Ginny, she has four wonderful friends – Lou, Cathy, Angie and Kim – poised to whisk her away on a ladies’ skiing holiday to beautiful La Tzoumaz, Switzerland.

While all of them appear to have their lives together from the outside, little do the ladies know that every single one of them is fighting a secret battle.

As the trip unfolds, they realise that fears of tumbling down the slopes after too much après-ski fun is the least of their worries and all is not what it seems…

A novel of love, loss and friendship, perfect for fans of Jules Wake, Erica James and Cathy Kelly.

Buy Links:    Amazon (UK)         Amazon (US)        Barnes and Noble

One comment on “Five Ladies Go Skiing by Karen Aldous

  1. carhicks
    January 26, 2019

    Nice review Elaine. I have this one to read. I am looking forward to it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Information

This entry was posted on January 22, 2019 by in Adult and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: