splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Knowing You by Samantha Tonge

Synopsis:

An abrupt change; a new friendship; a dark secret…

 Kind-hearted Violet has never fitted in, but despite being bullied at school is now content. She is dating ambitious Lenny, has her dream job in publishing and runs a book club at the local retirement home.

However, when her relationship with Lenny begins to falter, Violet, hurt and alone, seeks the advice of her new flatmate, Bella. She changes her image and with her head held high aims to show that she doesn’t need Lenny in her life to be happy and successful.

Her long-term friends Mable and Farah worry about Bella’s influence and slowly Violet starts to distance herself from them. When she was a child, her closest confidant and companion was a boy called Flint. Her mother didn’t approve of their closeness and he suffered a terrible end. She won’t let the same thing happen to Bella, no matter what anyone says…

Knowing You is about friendship and knowing who to trust with your deepest secrets; it’s about taking control of your life and not being afraid to stand out. Perfect for fans of Ruth Hogan, Gail Honeyman and Amanda Prowse

 

My Review

OMG!! This is another amazing, riveting read from this very talented author. It is a story which deals with some issues in a very sensitive and caring manner but I don’t want to reveal just what those issues are as that would spoil your enjoyment of the book!

This is the story of Violet Vaughan, who now works as an editor of children’s books in a small publishing house, Thoth, and shares the impact of events from 2001, when she was seven years old, and the present day after she discovers her boyfriend has been cheating on her. It is a story of different friendships, about coping with events and taking control of them for your own advantage. It is about learning just who to trust – who has your best interests at heart and who is out for themselves. It is about self image, changing yourself and your outlook through your appearance, behaviour and expectations – but is this for yourself or to meet the expectations of others? Is the guidance of others accepting you and helping you improve or is it malicious manipulation with an unknown goal?

This is women’s fiction at its best, with a decidedly dark element. I loved her friends from work and the retirement home and there are some laugh out loud moments so don’t anticipate it being a doom and gloom read, it isn’t. This is an emotive and thought provoking story, with plenty of surprises in store. I just didn’t want to put it down – and that twist at the end, fantastic!

I requested and was gifted a copy of this book via NetGalley and this is my honest review after choosing to read it.

Purchase Links

Amazon – https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B07MX87BH1/?_encoding=UTF8&camp=1634&creative=6738&linkCode=ur2&tag=canelo-21

Apple – https://geo.itunes.apple.com/gb/book/knowing-you/id1449854707?mt=11&uo=8&at=1000l5Q7

Google – https://play.google.com/store/books/details?id=aRiEDwAAQBAJ

Kobo – https://www.kobo.com/gb/en/ebook/knowing-you-6

About Samantha Tonge

Samantha Tonge lives in Manchester UK and her passion, second to spending time with her husband and children, is writing. She studied German and French at university and has worked abroad, including a stint at Disneyland Paris. She has travelled widely.

When not writing she passes her days cycling, baking and drinking coffee. Samantha has sold many dozens of short stories to women’s magazines.

In 2013, she landed a publishing deal for romantic comedy fiction with HQDigital at HarperCollins and in 2014, her bestselling debut novel, Doubting Abbey, was shortlisted for the Festival of Romantic Fiction best Ebook award. In 2015 her summer novel, Game of Scones, hit #5 in the UK Kindle chart and won the Love Stories Awards Best Romantic Ebook category.

Links

Twitter: https://twitter.com/SamTongeWriter

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SamanthaTongeAuthor

Website: http://samanthatonge.co.uk/

Many thanks to Rachel’s Random Resources for providing content for this post and organising the tour it is part of. The review is my honest opinion after choosing to read this book.

One comment on “Knowing You by Samantha Tonge

  1. Bookworms corner blog spot
    March 15, 2019

    Great review. I need to add this one to my TBR.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: