Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

All that’s Dead by Stuart MacBride


Title: All that’s Dead

Series: Logan McRae #12

Author: Stuart MacBride

Publisher: Harper Collins UK

Published: May 30th, 2019

Pages: 400

Rating: 5/5

My Review:

Well this may be the twelfth in the series but it is a new one to me and I really need to catch up on the earlier books. I found this to be an enthralling, occasionally humorous and enthralling read, a brilliant crime thriller with fantastic characters and plenty of twists to keep me guessing!

Inspector Logan McRae is returning to work a year after being stabbed and seriously injured. He’s anticipating a gentle re-introduction to work but the disappearance of a vocal, acerbic anti-independence campaigner, Professor Wilson thwarts this. With nothing but blood stains and his dog left behind, DI Frank King is supposedly in charge of the investigation. However, a journalist is threatening to make a huge splash of revelations regarding King and Logan is set on initially to determine the veracity of the accusations and to assist in the case. Media interest in the Professor is high, the pressure from their superior officers unrelenting as they want results – preferably yesterday! However, as bloody packages add to the suspense and mystery, there are many other events impacting on the case and there’ll be surprising revelations, more victims and other red herrings before the perpetrators can be brought to justice in this fast paced crime thriller.

I really enjoyed reading this and have no hesitation in highly recommending it to anyone who enjoys crime thrillers. It is a real page turner and, whilst the events are dark, there is a thread of humour to lighten it, especially through the interactions of the characters. I’ll definitely be endeavouring to read more books in this series in future!

Many thanks to the publishers for granting my wish to read this book via NetGalley. This is my honest review after choosing reading it.


There’s a darkness in the heart of Scotland…

The stunning new Logan McRae thriller from No. 1 Sunday Times bestseller Stuart MacBride.

Scream all you want, no one can hear…

Inspector Logan McRae is looking forward to a nice simple case – something to ease him back into work after a year off on the sick. But the powers-that-be have other ideas…

The high-profile anti-independence campaigner, Professor Wilson, has gone missing, leaving nothing but bloodstains behind. There’s a war brewing between the factions for and against Scottish Nationalism. Infighting in the police ranks. And it’s all playing out in the merciless glare of the media. Logan’s superiors want results, and they want them now.

Someone out there is trying to make a point, and they’re making it in blood. If Logan can’t stop them, it won’t just be his career that dies.


Buy Links:       Amazon UK              Barnes and Noble    

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: