splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Summer at Firefly Beach by Jenny Hale

Title: Summer at Firefly Beach

Publication Day – 17/06/2019   

Author:  Jenny Hale

Description:

A totally gorgeous, feel-good summer story from the bestselling author of The Summer House. You’ll smile, sob, and be swept off your feet with this unforgettable beach romance…

Hallie Flynn’s favorite place in the world is her great Aunt Clara’s beautiful beachside house, with its inviting wraparound porch and enchanting views across the sparkling turquoise ocean. For Hallie, going to Firefly Beach, filled with magical childhood memories, feels like coming home. But all that is about to change…

In one moment Hallie’s world is turned upside down. She’s left broken-hearted when her adored Aunt Clara passes away.

As always, Aunt Clara has thought of everything. In her last letter she included the bucket list Hallie wrote when she was twelve-years-old—and Clara’s final wish is for her to complete it. For once, Hallie decides not to hesitate. Stepping away from her dead-end job and predictable schedule, she embraces Aunt Clara’s words.

Spending the summer at Firefly Beach, Hallie encounters old friends and begins to remember the things that matter most to her. All the time her childhood friend Ben Murray is there, supporting her every step of the way. But following the bucket list isn’t an easy journey. And if that wasn’t all, a run in with wealthy Gavin Wilson, a newcomer to Firefly Beach, leaves her questioning her future, and facing something buried deep in her heart which she’d rather not admit to.

Will Hallie be able to complete the list and change her life? Or will the secret she’s been keeping destroy her new beginning—and the chance to fall in love?

An emotional, gripping page-turner about family secrets, re-discovering who you are, and the magic of finding true love. Perfect for fans of Mary Alice Monroe, Nancy Thayer and Susan Mallery.

 My Review

Hallie has kept secret from her family just why her engagement ended. Still recovering from everything, the untimely demise of her beloved Aunt Clara means she’s really struggling to cope. Aunt Clara has left them all letters but Hallie’s is different from everyone else as it requires her to complete the bucket list she wrote when she was just 12 years old before she can have her inheritance. That’s when her best friend from childhood, Ben Murray, comes to help her and her family. He has always been able to make her feel safe, secure and loved but even he doesn’t know that secret. Together they all travel to spend the summer a Firefly Beach with Uncle Hank, who is still reeling from the death of his beloved wife. Can they help each other? Should Hallie do what her Aunt asked? What will her inheritance be? Can she share her secret and will doing so help her find true love or destroy the possibility of her ever doing so?

Jenny Hale is one of those select, few, highly talented authors who writes emotive, enthralling romantic reads that I just cannot resist because I know I will thoroughly enjoy escaping into them. This is another of her brilliant stories.

The story has believable characters, many of whom are struggling with losing someone they’ve loved. That doesn’t, however, make this a sad story – just the opposite really, it definitely has some laugh out loud moments, too! It is a story of reconnecting, sharing, revelations, new beginnings and following your dreams. Ben is the sort of man any family would be lucky to have as a friend, he’s amazing. It is a heartwarming family story that I loved reading and have absolutely no hesitation in highly recommending. If I could give it more than 5* I would!

I requested and was gifted a copy of this book via NetGalley. This is my honest review after choosing to read it.

BUY LINKS

Amazon: https://geni.us/B07R95SVPCSocial

Apple Books: https://apple.co/2HdIdBa.

Kobo: https://bit.ly/2HgBNkR

Googleplay: http://bit.ly/2Vy7pwk

 

Author Bio:

When I graduated college, one of my friends said, “Look out for this one; she’s going to be an author one day.” Despite being an avid reader and a natural storyteller, it wasn’t until that very moment that the idea of writing novels occurred to me.

Sometimes our friends can see the things that we can’t.

While I didn’t start straight away, that comment sowed a seed and several years, two children, and hundreds of thousands of words later, I completed a novel that I felt was worthy of publication. The result was Coming Home for Christmas, a heart-warming story about the magic of love at Christmas, and 2017 TV movie on The Hallmark Channel.

The rest is history.

When I’m not writing, I’m a mother of two boys and a wife to a very supportive husband.

Author Social Media Links:

Website: https://www.itsjennyhale.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/jennyhaleauthor/

Twitter:  https://twitter.com/jhaleauthor

 

Follow the tour:

Many thanks to Bookouture for granting my request to read this book, via NetGalley, providing content for this post and organising the tour it is part of. The review is my honest opinion after choosing to read this book.

2 comments on “Summer at Firefly Beach by Jenny Hale

  1. crimebookjunkie40
    June 18, 2019

    thanks so much for being a part of the tour!
    x Noelle

    Like

    • bicted
      June 20, 2019

      Thanks for letting me take part – I love reading anything by Jenny!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: