splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Summer Love by Kitty Wilson #Review #Romance #Cornwall #BlogTour

Title: Summer Love

Series: The Cornish Village School

Author Name: Kitty Wilson

Previous Books:
The Cornish Village School – Breaking the Rules
The Cornish Village School – Second Chances

Genre: Women’s Fiction

Release Date: 23rd May 2019

 

Book Blurb: Pippa Parkin thinks she has it all under control…

For teaching assistant Pippa, life in her home town of Penmenna is reassuringly predictable. Between managing the Easter Egg Hunt and dealing with her annoying but well-meaning family, Pippa thinks she has it all sorted. That is until gorgeous new substitute teacher Kam Choudhury arrives at Penmenna School, and turns everything upside down.

Pippa and Kam are instantly drawn to each other, but their priorities and their working relationship make it very hard to be together. Can they find a way to reconcile their differences and find their Happily-Ever-After?

This heartwarming romance is perfect for fans of Tilly Tennant, Holly Martin and A. L. Michael. 

My Review

What another fun read this proved to be – a great addition to the series! Pippa Parkin lives and works in the Cornish village of Penmenna where she’s a teaching assistant. She first encounters Kam Choudhury when he is attempting to leave the school after a job interview there. His car won’t start and she’s dressed up as the Easter Bunny!! There’s instant mutual attraction between the two but they’re working together in the same class . . . . a situation where relationships will be frowned on! Anyway, Pippa’s childhood boyfriend is back in the village and seems to want to rekindle their relationship. What will Pippa decide to do? Actually will she have any chance to make her own mind up as her Mum, Jan Parkin, can’t resist matchmaking!

This is a lovely story of Cornish village life, with great characters, community events and interfering families all adding to the mix. As if Jan isn’t enough, Kam’s Mum, Geeta Choudhary, and his three sisters all get involved in this heartwarming romance. There’s lots of banter between the siblings, matchmaking from both parents and a missing letter to cause misunderstandings! It is great to catch up on some of the characters from earlier books in this series, though Flynn in particular deserves a mention, but don’t worry if you haven’t read the others as I believe this will also work well as a standalone. I really hope there will be more to come in this series as I really want to know what’s going on with Marion Marksharp – I’m sure there should be some revelations about her to come! I thoroughly enjoyed visiting this delightful location and its community again and have no hesitation in highly recommending it.

I requested and was gifted a copy of this book and this is my honest opinion after choosing to read it.

Links to Book:

Amazon (UK)

Kobo (UK)

Google Books (UK)

Apple Books (UK)

Author Bio:

Kitty Wilson lived in Cornwall for twenty-five years having been dragged there, against her will, as a stroppy teen. She is now remarkably grateful to her parents for their foresight and wisdom – and that her own children aren’t as hideous. Recently she has moved to Bristol, but only for love and on the understanding that she and her partner will be returning to Cornwall to live very soon.

She spends most of her time welded to the keyboard, dreaming of the beach or bombing back down the motorway for a quick visit! She has a penchant for very loud music, equally loud dresses and romantic heroines who speak their mind. 

Twitter: @KittyWilson23

Follow the tour:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: