splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

The Little Village of Happiness by Holly Martin #Review #RomCom #SmallCommunity #BlogTour

One brilliant book but released with different covers in different countries.
The one on the left is the US version and the one on the right is from the UK. Whatever the cover, here’s my review of the brilliant story it contains…

Title:   The Little Village of Happiness

Author: Holly Martin   

Publisher: Sunshine, Seaside & Sparkles   

Published:  18 Jun. 2019   

Rating:  5/5   

 

 

My Review

I absolutely loved this story – it put a smile on my face from start to finish! Mind you, that’s what I usually find with books by this talented author – I’ve loved all that I’ve read by her.

After seeing an advert offering free accommodation and a shop for a year in the village of Happiness, Willow just couldn’t resist. However, when she arrives she’s disappointed to discover so much of the village is abandoned, dilapidated and in dire need of a makeover. The cottage she’s been given, however is delightful, with brilliant sea views and Andrew, the man who shows her to it, is also intriguingly attractive. Andrew is the person everyone in the village turns to when they need something sorting. He’s so hardworking, kind and considerate, he’s an amazing character but with secrets . . . . When Willow learns about a planned open day to try to attract more people to live in the village, she can’t resist getting involved and her ideas are truly inspirational but I’ll let you read the story yourself to discover what happens!

This is a fantastic, fun story, packed with humour, romance and brilliant characters. I really didn’t want to put it down once I started reading it! There are plenty of surprises, twists and turns to keep you guessing as the story progresses. There are several romances, shocking revelations, close family and friends and even a lovely little girl called Poppy. Several issues are sensitively included in the story, involving reactions, attitudes and behaviour regarding them. The main romance is fraught with obstacles, most generated by Andrew’s secrets as well as his so-called friend and Andrew’s sister. However, it is full of funny incidents and together Willow and Andrew really do regenerate the feeling of happiness for the whole community in this brilliant story. I have no hesitation in highly recommending it to anyone who enjoys contemporary romances set in a small community. I can’t wait to read the sequel which, according the information after the end of the story, features Andrew’s brother and Willow’s best friend. It should be available in October and I can’t wait!

I requested and was gifted a copy of this book which I couldn’t resist reading. This is my honest review after thoroughly enjoying it!

Synopsis:

Fall head-over-heels in love with the beautiful new novel from bestselling author Holly Martin and let The Little Village of Happiness warm your heart and make your spirits soar.

Willow McKay needs a fresh start. Her recent break-up may not have left her heartbroken but it’s certainly wounded her pride. Desperate to escape the whispers and stares of her town’s gossips, an advert offering homes in a picturesque village in the grounds of a majestic castle on the Cornish coast sounds like just what she needs. Without thinking twice Willow applies for a cottage and packs up her life for the village of Happiness.

But when Willow arrives she finds a crumbling ruin and ramshackle cottages, nothing like the pretty picture the advert had boasted. It seems Happiness was too good to be true. That is until she meets the incredibly handsome estate manager Andrew Harrington…

His passion for restoring the village to its former glory is contagious and soon they are working together to bring happiness back to Happiness. And as sparks fly between them Willow can feel herself falling. But Andrew is holding something back.

Can Willow risk her heart again? And will they succeed in transforming the old village to its original beauty before it’s too late?

Get swept away to the sun-kissed Cornish coast with this gorgeous love story, perfect for fans of Jill Mansell, Miranda Dickinson and Lucy Diamond.

 

I’ve actually read and reviewed quite a few books by this author – you can find them by following this link.

 

Follow the Blog Tour:

One comment on “The Little Village of Happiness by Holly Martin #Review #RomCom #SmallCommunity #BlogTour

  1. Pingback: The Gift of Happiness by Holly Martin #Review #Romance #Christmas #BlogTour | splashesintobooks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: