splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

The Garden on Holly Street by Megan Attley #Review #Contemporary#

An inspirational and touching read’ Heidi Swain,
bestselling author of ‘Poppy’s Recipe for Life’


Sometimes you have to dig a little deeper to get the life you want . . . 

Abby Hamilton’s world has turned upside down in a matter of months – it seems that change is definitely in the air. But moving into Willow Court might just be the fresh start and happy distraction she needed.

Meeting her intriguing new neighbours helps push Abby out of her comfort zone. Then she finds an overgrown patch of garden in desperate need of love and time – something Abby has in spades! Throwing herself into bringing the garden back to life, Abby discovers that new beginnings can come from the most surprising places…

 

An uplifting, feel-good novel, perfect for fans of Holly Hepburn, Heidi Swain and Isabelle Broom.

My Review:

This is a delightful contemporary community story with three main characters. Abby Hamilton has recently split up with her long term boyfriend after discovering his infidelity and has moved into Willow Court to make a fresh start. She didn’t realise that would also include losing her job!

Arthur is the grumpy old man who lives in the ground floor flat. He lost his much loved wife and is still grieving and trying to cope with her loss, becoming more isolated and insular in the process.

Ernie lives in the first floor flat, the one between those of Arthur and Abby. Ernie’s Dad is bringing him up on his own but his job involves lots of travelling so his older cousin usually looks after him when his Dad is away.

Abby discovers the communal garden has been neglected and is in dire need of some tlc. As she now has plenty of time on her hands, she decides to start endeavouring to rejuvenate the area, to make it into an area the residents can use and share. She’s not had a lot of gardening experience, so asks for help from a local gardening blogger . . . . and Ernie offers his help, too! Arthur, however, resents her actions and you’ll just have to read it yourself to discover why and what happens!

There are great characters in this story and I loved how they got to know each other and was especially warmed by the relationships which develop with Arthur and how the community eventually help to support several of the characters. It definitely lives up to his tag line of being an uplifting, feel-good novel and has a side helping of romance, too! I thoroughly enjoyed reading this heartwarming story and have no hesitation in highly recommending it.

I actually read part one, was intrigued and immediately purchased and started reading parts two and three. All three parts are now published together as one book. You can purchase a copy of the entire book at https://www.amazon.co.uk/Garden-Holly-Street-complete-heartwarming-ebook/dp/B07ND1H4WF/

Readers and authors love ‘The Garden on Holly Street’ 

‘I sat up until 4AM reading this book I just couldn’t put it down’ Amazon Reviewer

‘The Garden on Holly Street by Megan Attley is a wonderful, heartwarming read about friendship and community, overcoming loneliness and finding happiness in unexpected places. It’s so uplifting!’ Cressida McLaughlin

‘A heart-warming story about a community coming together. I loved the residents of Holly Street!’ Catherine Miller

‘I was hooked all the way to the end it was a lovely read’ Amazon Reviewer

‘A truly scrumptious, 5* read! This is such a sweet, endearing, and ultimately uplifting story.’ Lucy Coleman

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: