splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

A Whisker in the Dark by Leighann Dobbs #Review #MurderMystery #BlogTour

Title: A Whisker in the Dark

Author:  Leighann Dobbs   

Publication Day: 31/07/19

Buy Link:  https://geni.us/B07RKCWRPRSocial 

Synopsis:

Discovering the 300-year-old skeleton of shipping tycoon Jedediah Biddeford in the ballroom wall is a big old hassle for Josie Waters, owner of the Oyster Cove Guesthouse. Especially when Biddeford’s descendants turn up, certain that a family legend about treasure buried nearby must be true.

Josie is too busy dreaming up the perfect cake for the Oyster Cove’s 250th anniversary celebration to worry about the Biddeford family – plus half the town – digging up her yard… until one of her guests is murdered in the guesthouse garden. 

With worries that her guesthouse will get a reputation for being the kind of place you only leave in a body bag, Josie must put her detective skills to work to find the killer. Lucky for her, Nero and Marlowe and their gang of cat sleuths are also on the case. 

From the old wharf, to the town common, to the guesthouse itself with its many nooks and crannies, the cats are sure to sniff out the killer… but can they help Josie stop the person behind the mysterious murder before they strike again?

A fantastic page-turner from a bestselling author, purrfeect for fans of Agatha Christie, Adele Abbott, cat lovers and everyone in between!

 My Review:

If you love reading great cosy murder mysteries, look no further! This is a highly entertaining, well written and enthralling story that I thoroughly enjoyed reading from start to finish. It is the first book that I’ve read by this author but I’ll certainly be looking out for more by her in future, including the first book in this series.

The Oyster Cove Guesthouse is being renovated by its owner Josie Waters and she certainly hadn’t anticipated discovering a skeleton hidden in a bedroom wall! As the remains are suspected of being more than 300 years old she didn’t expect any further trouble but she’d no counted on the descendants of the victim arriving absolutely convinced that there are family treasures buried nearby. As the family and locals endeavour to discover these treasures, the guest house grounds are being dug up and someone is murdered. This sets off another murder mystery for Josie and her cats, Nero and Marlowe, to help solve!

This is a great read, packed with humour, intrigued and potential killers. I can’t wait to read more from this exceptionally talented author and highly recommend you give her books a read, too!

I requested and was gifted a copy of this book via NetGalley, and this is my honest review after choosing to read it – and absolutely loving doing so!

Author Bio:

USA Today bestselling author, Leighann Dobbs, discovered her passion for writing after a twenty year career as a software engineer. She lives in New Hampshire with her husband Bruce, their trusty Chihuahua mix Mojo and beautiful rescue cat, Kitty.

Her book “Dead Wrong” won the “Best Mystery Romance” award at the 2014 Indie Romance Convention.

Her book “Ghostly Paws” was the 2015 Chanticleer Mystery & Mayhem First Place category winner in the Animal Mystery category.

 

Social Media links

Website: http://www.leighanndobbs.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/leighanndobbs

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/leighanndobbsbooks/

 

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: