splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Accidental Lies by Dana Mason 

Accidental Lies by Dana Mason 
Amazon: https://geni.us/B07RP1QGH3Social
A blissful week on the beautiful island of Maui is exactly what I need…
I haven’t got away in years.
Not since the tragedy that’s overshadowed my life.
Not since my heart cracked into two.
But when I finally take the plunge, what happens?
I get locked out of my hotel room.

The first person I lay eyes on is a golden-eyed guy who’s all kinds of rugged.
Rugged in a dirty-sex kind of way.
The best kind.
Chocolate-brown hair, sun-kissed skin, a sexy dimpled smile.
A built body that I want to run my hands all over.
And that takes me by surprise.
He’s the first man that’s caught my eye in a long, long time.
I’ve never been able to get past the pain that haunts me.
But this man makes me think I might be able to forget.

Four cocktails later, our chemistry is hotter than the Hawaiian sun.
We’re pressed against each other in an elevator.
Soaking wet after being caught in a tropical storm.
I’m moaning in his arms, hands fisting his hair.
Then we spend the rest of our vacation unwinding and undressing…

We have just two rules:
No talking about our lives back home, and this is just a fling.
That means I can’t tell him about the heartbreak I fight every single day.
I can’t reveal my secret.
But when the sun sets on our trip, can we bring ourselves to say goodbye?
I have a feeling he’ll be tempted to break the rules.
The question is, after years of shielding my heart, will I be able to let him in?
And even if I do, will I want him when I find out who he really is?

This is a full-length, standalone romance with some hot-under-the-collar action, no cheating and a guaranteed HEA. For fans of R.S Grey, Whitney G. and Vi Keeland,Accidental Lies features a hot AF alpha and a sizzling will-they-won’t-they love story that will have you totally addicted!
My Review: 
This is a story of two people both of whom’s spouse died some years ago but they have struggled to move on. Emily is a lawyer who has used her job to distract her but her brother, Mac, has sent her on holiday to Maui, arranging things for her to do to ensure she gets to live a little whilst she’s there. Drew is now a single Dad with two children who spends three weeks every year at the same resort whilst his children stay with their maternal grandparents. He has tried dating again but most women run when they discover he is a single Dad.
Fate brings this pair together.  The attraction is mutual and they agree to have a holiday fling and, after confirming they really are both single, they make a pact not to discuss anything about their pasts. That’s fine whilst they are on holiday but the attraction between them grown, could this be more than a very steamy holiday romance? Emily is adamant about not exchanging more information so, when the two go their separate ways, they have no way to get back in touch with each other….. It is such a great job that fate will intervene again – but you need to read it yourself to discover just what happens!
This is one of those stories where if only the two main characters would talk to each other and listen to what the other has to say, so much angst would have been avoided! However, that wouldn’t make a very good story, would it? So, this is really a story about learning to give your partner time to talk and to listen to what they have to say – and being honest with each other and not telling lies, not even by omission! It is an engaging read and works well as a standalone. I discovered there’s an earlier book in the series after finishing this one but the author provides plenty of background information as the story progresses so you don’t feel you’re missing something important if, like me, you haven’t read the earlier book.
I requested and was gifted a copy of this book via NetGalley and this is my honest review after choosing to read it.
About the author
Dana Mason started writing about ten years ago after being overwhelmed by a story that wouldn’t let her sleep until she wrote it down. The story, Dangerous Embrace, was published in 2012 and won Best Mystery/Suspense from eFestival of Words Best of Independent eBook Awards in 2014. Dangerous Embrace is the first book in her Embrace Series. The second book in the series, Precious Embrace, was Runner-Up for Best Hero from eFestival of Words Best of Independent eBook Awards that same year. Her third book, Broken Embrace, was awarded Best Indie Book in 2015 in the Romance Category. 
Dana loves turning your worst nightmares into happy endings. She lives in Northern California with her husband, children, and her writing companion and mighty protector, Mia the Chihuahua. 
Where to find Dana:
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/danamasonromance/ 
Twitter: https://twitter.com/danamason06 
Website: http://danamasonromance.com/
Follow the Tour:

2 comments on “Accidental Lies by Dana Mason 

  1. Dana Mason
    August 7, 2019

    Thank you so much!

    Like

    • bicted
      August 7, 2019

      My pleasure – I enjoyed reading it and hope that shows in my review!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Information

This entry was posted on August 7, 2019 by in Adult, Blog Tour and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: