splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Honeymoon for One by Frankie Collins #Review #RomCom #Funny

Title: Honeymoon for One

Author: Frankie Collins

Publisher: Boldwood Books

Published: August 6th, 2019    

Rating: 4/5

 

‘A hilarious, roaringly fun, feel good, sexy summer read. I LOVED it!’ Holly Martin

When disaster strikes, paradise calls…

As a published novelist, Lila Rose has been writing about fictional weddings all her life. But disaster strikes on her own big day when she hears her philandering fiancé, Daniel whispering sweet nothings to someone else.

With her dream day shattered, all Lila wants to do is run and hide, so she decides to fly solo on her own honeymoon.

When Daniel arrives in the resort with his new squeeze, Lila strikes up a ‘showmance’ with hot new movie star, Freddie Bianchi. Freddie is perfect for the part and Lila soon relaxes into her leading lady role.

But as truth starts to merge with fiction, could real love be in the air?

A sizzling holiday romance, perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Lindsey Kelk and Sophie Ranald’s Sorry Not Sorry.

My Review:

The cover and title for this one had me intrigued even before I read the synopsis and it lived up to my expectations, proving to be a great, fun read about realising dreams and reality don’t always match and that love really has to find a way!

Lila Rose is a romantic comedy author who has written about so many weddings she’s determined her own will be just perfect, avoiding all the pitfalls, angst and turmoil so often experienced by the characters in her stories. However, she hadn’t counted on hearing her husband-to-be, Daniel, telling Eva, someone she’d thought of as a friend, that he loves her shortly before they’re supposed to be marrying. Lila does a runner, deciding to fly off to their Italian honeymoon dream destination of San Valentino on her own. However, the holiday island has everything for couples to enjoy and really doesn’t cater for solo travellers . . . . When the she mistakes Freddie, a fellow solo holidaymaker, for a barman and then he sees more of her than she’d bargained for, could they act as a couple to join in with the events? When Daniel and Eva turn up at the resort, too, Freddie endeavours to protect Lila by pretending they are a couple but then Eva recognises that Freddie is a movie star and life gets even more intriguing, this is definitely a honeymoon they’ll not be forgetting!

It is a great read with fabulous food, an idyllic location, well developed characters and plenty of humour. Freddie is such a great character, the sort of hero you dream of . . . . Ali is a brilliant best friend . . . . and I can’t believe Lila ever found Daniel attractive enough to go out with, let alone live with or plan to marry! There’s competitions, confrontations, sun, sea and romance in this brilliant story that had me giggling my way through it from start to finish!

I requested and was gifted a copy of this book via NetGalley and this is my honest review after choosing to read it and thoroughly enjoying doing so!

Buy links:       Amazon     Barnes and Noble

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: