splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

My Silent Daughter by Emma Robinson #Review #FamilySaga

This book was originally released last month with the title ‘Where I Found You’. As it has been renamed, I have copied my original post and updated the cover image in this post (and removed the blog tour information as it is no longer relevant!)
Your daughter does not speak… But can she teach you how to live?

Ever since Ruby was tiny, she has been unique. Her smiles are magically rare, her building blocks are always colour-coded, and she communicates only in gestures. Sometimes, being Ruby’s mother is hard, but the way she sees the world makes it new for Sara every day.

When Sara’s husband walks out on them, Sara’s world falls apart, and her mother-in-law, Barbara, is the only person she can turn to for help. But Barbara thinks Ruby’s problems are all in Sara’s head; that she just doesn’t know how to raise a child right.

Sara can’t see how she’ll cope alone. Barbara won’t listen. Can a girl who doesn’t speak show them the way?

A powerful emotional page-turner about motherhood, friendship and family. Guaranteed to take your breath away. Perfect for fans of A Boy Made of Blocks, Jodi Picoult and Jojo Moyes.
My Review:
This is an emotional story full of mother love and is a delightful read. There are lots of mothers who are key to the story, but the main character is Sara, the mother of Ruby. Her husband convinces her to move with him to stay with his mother to enable them to save up to buy a property rather than keep renting. His mother is Barbara and she obviously loves Ruby but seems unsupportive of Sara though whatever her son does she always seems to enthusiastically endorse. When he follows his dreams and abandons them, Barbara constantly suggests Ruby’s problems are a figment of Sara’s imagination and that Sara doesn’t know how to bring her child up properly. With everyone undermining her, can Ruby help bring these two together?
You just have to feel for Sara in this story, but there are always secrets to be revealed which will explain Barbara’s attitude. It is great to read how other mothers really help Sara and friendships develop which will impact on her knowledge, attitude and what will happen to Ruby in future. It is a moving story with the love of mothers at its heart and a real page turner. I thoroughly enjoyed reading it and have no hesitation in highly recommending it to anyone who enjoys reading stories with families, friendship and children.
I requested and was gifted a copy of this book via NetGalley and this is my honest review after choosing to read it.
Buy Links:
About the author 
Emma Robinson is the author of three novels about motherhood and female friendship including The Undercover Mother.

Her fourth novel – Where I Found You – is available to preorder now and will be released on the 16th August 2019.

When she is not writing, Emma is an English teacher and lives in Essex with a patient husband and two children who are an endless source of material.

Website: www.motherhoodforslackers.com
Facebook: facebook.com/motherhoodforslackers
Twitter: @emmarobinsonuk 
Instagram: emmarobinsonuk
Many thanks to Bookouture for gifting me a copy of this book via NetGalley without obligation, for providing materials for this post and organising the tour it was originally part of. The review is my honest opinion after choosing to read this delightful book.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: