splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Coming Home to Glendale Hall by Victoria Walters

No matter how far you go, home is where the heart is…

Beth Williams hasn’t been home for ten years. After falling pregnant at sixteen, she ran away from the imposing Scottish estate where she grew up rather than risk her family’s disapproval, working hard to build a life for herself and daughter Isabelle – but now she’s finally returning to Glendale Hall.

As Beth tries to mend her broken family ties, and fights to bring the community of Glendale back together, she realises that the story she has told herself for a decade might well be a very different one from the truth. Even though she ran from Glendale it has never left her heart. And, she soon realises, neither has Drew – Beth’s first love.

Will Beth be able to forgive her mother and grandmother (and herself) for what happened ten years ago? What will Drew say when he discovers the secret she’s been keeping from him for so long? Can a festive trail bring the village back together?

Will Christmas work its magic on Glendale – or will Beth be forced to run away from it all over again?

A charming, uplifting novel that will warm your heart – the perfect read to curl up with this autumn. Fans of Trisha Ashley, Debbie Johnson and Cathy Bramley will love this gorgeously romantic read.

My Review:

I recommend you go grab yourself a copy of this book right now – it is an amazing  emotional roller coaster festive second-chance romance and just – wow! – what a great read.

When her Grandmother informed the pregnant sixteen year old Beth Williams that she was going to take her to the doctors in the morning to arrange for her to have an abortion, Beth packed her bags and ran away to London. She believed her parents agreed with her Gran but was determined to keep her baby safe and let the baby’s father, Drew, follow his dreams. Ten years later, her Gran has terminal cancer and Beth returns home to Glendale Hall for the first time. As confessions reveal secrets that have torn her family apart, Drew also returns home but is unaware that he has a daughter. What will his reaction be to discovering he’s a father? What is going on with Beth’s parents? Why is no one fighting to save the village she has such happy memories of?

This is a moving story with great characters that are easy to empathise with. Discovering the lies that have torn the family apart for a decade leaves deep emotional wounds that will take some healing. Can Beth’s return to Glendale Hall give her a second chance to reconnect with her first love, her family and the community she grew up with?

I requested and was gifted a copy of this book, absolutely adored reading it and this is my honest review after doing so.

Purchase Links:

Apple: https://apple.co/2Y9e9h3
Amazon: amzn.to/2X0utPZ
kobo http://bit.ly/32Np4zS

 

Author Bio –

Victoria Walters writes up-lifting and inspiring stories. Her moving debut novel THE SECOND LOVE OF MY LIFE was chosen for WHSmith Fresh Talent and shortlisted for an RNA award. Victoria was also picked as an Amazon Rising Star. Her heart-warming new novel SUMMER AT THE KINDNESS CAFE is available to download now.

As well as being an author, Victoria also works as a Waterstones bookseller and buys far too many books there. She lives in Surrey with her cat Harry (named after Harry Potter). Victoria is not only obsessed with books but loves buying slogan tops, mugs and notebooks, and posting them all on Instagram.

You can discover more about Victoria – and find pictures of Harry the cat – by following her on Instagram at @vickyjwalters, on Twitter at @Vicky_Walters or by visiting her blog at:https://victoria-writes.com/.

Follow the tour:

 

2 comments on “Coming Home to Glendale Hall by Victoria Walters

  1. Pingback: #CoverReveal New Beginnings at Glendale Hall by Victoria Walters | splashesintobooks

  2. Pingback: New Beginnings at Glendale Hall by Victoria Walters | splashesintobooks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: