Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

The House That Sat Down (2) by Alice May

This series is also being released as an omnibus edition containing all three books. I am going to share my review of each of these books over three posts during the next few days. Obviously much of the information regarding the synopsis for each book and their images will remain the same, but keep reading to discover my review for in this post!

The House That Sat Down Trilogy: Omnibus Edition

Inspired by a true story, The House That Sat Down Trilogy is a tale of triumph over tragedy. It is an astonishing account of sudden, first-world homelessness in the heart of the New Forest, and the unexpected consequences. Written entirely from a mother’s point of view, following the collapse of her family’s home, it is an uplifting and positive read in spite of the subject matter, with a thread of wry humour throughout. Follow this ordinary woman on an extraordinary journey of survival and self discovery as she reels from disaster, before picking herself up and coming back stronger and wiser than before.

Packed with humorous observations about what it is like to live in a tent in your garden with your husband and four children after a significant part of your house falls down out of the blue one day, this story takes you from the depths of despair right through to the satisfying heights of success against the odds, with lots of tea and cakes on the way.

Follow this crazy family as they cope with disaster in their own truly unique and rather mad way, and celebrate each small triumph along the way with them.

Purchase Links:

UK – https://www.amazon.co.uk/House-That-Sat-Down-Trilogy-ebook/dp/B07WJW5MYF


This series is also available as individual books. Today my review is for the second book in this trilogy, ‘Restoration’. Keep reading to discover what I thought about it and information about the other two stories:

Accidental Damage – Tales from the House that Sat Down.

Book 1 in The House That Sat Down Trilogy

If you think the normal school run on a Monday is entertaining, you should try doing it from a tent in your back garden, surrounded by the jumbled-up contents of your entire home. It is vastly more diverting.

Our heroine has survived the sudden collapse of her home – or has she?

Certain events, two and a half years ago, led her to deliberately destroy an important piece of herself, hiding away all remaining evidence that it every existed. What happens when she decides to go looking for it?

Does she really deserve to be whole again?

Book 1 Accidental Damage – Tales from the house that sat down


Accidental Damage is also available in Large Print format


Restoration – More tales from the House that Sat Down.

Book 2 in The House That Sat Down Trilogy

Let us return to the crumbling cob cottage in the country, and our intrepid heroine and her hilarious family.

They are about to start rebuilding their home and their lives. Of course, nothing is going to go smoothly for them, is it?

In this sequel to ‘Accidental Damage – tales from the house that sat down’ we accompany our heroine on her journey as she bravely battles to restore everything that she loves; often against the odds and with a liberal sprinkling of humour, art and home-made cookies along the way.

One this is for sure, it’s going to be a bumpy ride!

My Review:

The first book in this series relates what happened when this family home started falling down, the dramatic events which ensued and the story ends just before rebuilding it commenced. This story shares what happened during the rebuilding of the property and of their family lives. It is also about strategies used to cope with the stresses and pressure that such experiences cause and how these affected the heroine.

It is another heartwarming, friendly story, one that feels as though it is being shared by a close friend. It is a story of second chances, fresh starts and cookies, though some difficult decisions have to be made and it is their daughters who are instrumental in encouraging the heroine to develop her creativity further, with very positive results. It is a family drama, packed with the highs and lows of coping with everything the collapse of their 350 year old home causes and some of the laughs along the way. There’s a drastic decision made at the end of this story, one that means I’m really looking forward to discovering what happens next.

I requested and was gifted a copy of this omnibus and this is my honest review after choosing to read it – now I’m going to go straight on to discover just what happens next in the third story in this trilogy, ‘Redemption‘.


Purchase Link


Redemption – Moving on from the House that Sat Down.

Book 3 in The House That Sat Down Trilogy

Let us return to our favourite cottage in the country once again.

In this final instalment from the house that sat down, the family’s incredible journey is drawing to a close, leaving an unexpected bonus in its wake.

The cottage has been rebuilt and the family are moving on, but this tale has an astonishing legacy in store for our heroine, if she can find the courage to reach for it.

Purchase Link:


About the Author

I am a multi-tasking parent to four not-so-small children, and I am fortunate enough to be married to (probably) the most patient man on the planet.  We live in, what used to be, a ramshackle old cottage in the country. Our house began to fall down out of the blue one day, which resulted in the whole family living in a tent in the back garden for quite some time, while we worked out how to rebuild our home.

A few years afterwards, I decided to write a book and, once I started, I found I couldn’t stop.

Inspired by true-life events ‘Accidental Damage – tales from the house that sat down’ wouldn’t leave me alone until it was written.

Within six months of self-publishing my novel, I was delighted to learn that it had won two ‘Chill with a Book Awards’. This was a massive honour and motivated me to continue writing. Accidental Damage became the first book in a trilogy.

The Omnibus edition of all three books in the House That Sat Down Trilogy is now available via Amazon in both paperback and kindle format.


Social Media Links –

Website: www.AliceMay.weebly.com

Facebook www.facebook.com/AliceMayAuthor/

Twitter: @AliceMay_Author

Instagram: alicemay_author_artist


Follow the tour:

Many thanks to Rachel’s Random Resources for providing materials for this post and organising the tour it is part of. The review is my honest opinion after choosing to read this book.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: