splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Home Alone on Hope Island by Portia MacIntosh

 

Title: Home Alone on Hope Island

Author:  Portia MacIntosh

Published: November 10th, 2019

Pages: 113

Rating: 5/5

 

 

 

My Review

If you’re looking for a fun, festive novella to read that’ll have you laughing out loud, look no further! This is a lovely story that I thoroughly enjoyed reading.

Lexi Newman met her long term boyfriend whilst studying law. After finishing their studies they decided he’d apply for jobs as a solicitor and she’d be his PA. A decade later and he’s found someone else and she’s being demoted to office junior . . . Rather than spend a lonely Christmas in London, she decides to return to celebrate Christmas with her parents on Hope Island – that’s when all the fun starts!

Her parents hadn’t thought she was going home and she’s shocked to discover they have taken a surprise holiday, so she’s home alone. There are friendly neighbourly rivalries, visits from the police, old friends to reconnect with and the person who was her teen crush is there, too. As she tries to cover up the fact that she’s home alone, there’s lots of laughs to be had. I loved getting to know the island and its community. There are hilarious interactions, plenty of twists and even a party to be held in this fun festive romance. Wait till you read what she did to the snowman!!

I thoroughly enjoyed reading it and have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone looking for a delightful, festive novella, just right for cuddling up with and escaping into.

 

Synopsis

Lexi Newman is coming home for Christmas… she should have called first

The silver lining, when Lexi is dumped by her long-term boyfriend, is that she’s finally going to get to enjoy a family Christmas after years of doing whatever her ex wanted to them to do. The only problem is that Lexi hasn’t called ahead to let her parents know she’s coming…

Lexi arrives at her Hope Island childhood home only to realise that her parents have decided to go on holiday for the festive season this year. With nowhere else to go, and no one else to stay with, Lexi is going to have to spend Christmas home alone in her parents’ big house, but the bigger the house, the emptier it seems.

With her nosy neighbours suspicious and her childhood friends asking her all about her life, Lexi lies that she’s here to use her parents’ house for a big Christmas party while they are away, but as more and more people find out about the party, it’s going to take a lot more than some loud music and some flashing lights to convince everyone that she isn’t alone.

With just 12 days to go, will Lexi find someone to spend the holidays with, or will she be home alone for Christmas?

Home Alone on Hope Island is a festive stand-alone novella set in Portia MacIntosh’s Marram Bay series. Perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Holly Martin and Jo Watson.

Buy Links:      Amazon (UK)          Amazon (US)

One comment on “Home Alone on Hope Island by Portia MacIntosh

  1. Pingback: Day 10: Festive Guest Post: Portia MacIntosh’s Alternative Christmas Songs | splashesintobooks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: