splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Murder at the Dolphin Hotel by Helena Dixon #Review #Historical #Mystery #BlogTour

 

Title: Murder at the Dolphin Hotel  

Author: Helena Dixon   

Publisher: Bookouture

Published: December 11th, 2019

Rating: 4/5

Buy Links: https://geni.us/B07XLM3SM6Social 

 

 

My Review:

This is an intriguing, cosy, well paced, historical murder mystery that I found delightful to escape into and a lovely page turner.

Kitty Underhay’s mother disappeared without trace when she was a child. Kitty was brought up by her grandmother, the owner of the Dolphin Hotel, where they both live. It is in 1933 that Kitty’s grandmother travels to look after her sister. Kitty is left in charge of the hotel, unaware of the mysterious notes her Gran has received. She is surprised to meet Matthew Bryant, who her Gran has employed as additional security during her absence without mentioning anything to Kitty. An accident, hotel rooms being broken into and searched, more mentions of Kitty’s missing Mum, all add to the suspense as the story unfolds and show just how necessary Matthew’s role is. Just what are burglars searching for? How does Kitty’s Mum have a role in all this? Can Kitty and Matthew work together to uncover just what is happening – and why?

This is a delightful read that takes you right to the heart of the story from the very start. The author’s writing style is engaging, the plot intriguing and there are plenty of twists and turns to keep you guessing until the dramatic finale. I’ll definitely be looking out for more in this series in future and have no hesitation in highly recommending it to anyone who enjoys cosy historical mysteries!

I requested and was gifted a copy of this book via NetGalley and this is my honest review after choosing to read it and enjoying doing so.

Description:

A room with a view… to murder

June 1933. Independent young Kitty Underhay has been left in charge of her family’s hotel, The Dolphin, on the tranquil English coast. She’s expecting her days at the bustling resort to be filled with comfortable chatter with chambermaids as they polish the mahogany desk and glittering candelabras of the elegant foyer. Everything must be perfect for the arrival of a glamourous jazz singer from Chicago and a masked ball that will be the cultural highlight of the season.

But when several rooms are broken into and searched, including Kitty’s own, she quickly realises that something out of the ordinary is afoot at the hotel. Soon rumours are flying in the cozy town that someone is on the hunt for a stolen ruby. A ruby that Kitty’s mother may well have possessed when she herself went missing during the Great War. And when the break-ins are followed by a series of attacks and murders, including of the town’s former mayoress, it seems the perpetrator will stop at nothing to find it.

Aided by ex-army captain Matthew Bryant, the Dolphin’s new security officer, Kitty is determined to decipher this mystery and preserve not only the reputation of her hotel, but also the lives of her guests. Is there a cold-blooded killer under her own roof? And what connects the missing jewel to the mystery from Kitty’s own past?

A classic page-turning murder mystery! Fans of Agatha Christie, Elizabeth Edmondson and T.E. Kinsey will love this unputdownable whodunnit.

 

Author Bio:

Nell Dixon was born and continues to live in the Black Country. Married to the same man for over thirty-five years she has three daughters, a cactus called Spike, a crazy cockapoo and a tank of tropical fish. She is allergic to adhesives, apples, tinsel and housework. Her addictions of choice are coffee and reality TV. She was winner of The Romance Prize in 2007 with her book Marrying Max, and winner of Love Story of the Year 2010 with her book, Animal Instincts. She also writes historical 1930’s set cozy crime as Helena Dixon.

 

Author Social Media Links:

Website: http://www.nelldixon.com

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/nell.dixon

Twitter:      https://twitter.com/NellDixon

Follow the tour

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: