splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

The Boy in the Photo by Nicole Trope #Review #Kidnapping #FamilyDrama

 

Title: The Boy in the Photo

Author: Nicole Trope

Publisher: Bookouture

Published: June 28th, 2019

Pages: 312

Rating: 4.5/5*

 

 

My Review:

This is an enthralling, unputdownable psychological thriller and a great read.

Six years ago, six year old Daniel wasn’t at school when his Mum, Megan, went to collect him. He had supposedly been picked up by his father. Megan had divorced her abusive husband after years of being controlled by him and now he won’t answer his phone. Now she has a phone call to say that Daniel has been found. Her twelve year old son is returned to her but so much has changed in the six years apart and Daniel won’t tell her what happened to him . . .

This is a moving story told from both points of view but also sharing what happened in the past as well as the present. As Daniel moves in with his Mum again, she has remarried and he now also has a baby sister. Daniel is reticent to share anything about the intervening years. The struggle they have to reconnect is shared in heartbreaking detail as she strives to get him to trust her again. The story is a page turner with great characters and, although some of it is predictable, there are also some surprising twists to keep you guessing and the Epilogue is a fantastic ending.

I requested and was gifted a copy of this book via NetGalley and this is my honest review after choosing to read it.

Synopsis:

She becomes aware of the silence at the other end of the line. A prickling sensation crawls up her arms. Her heart speeds up. ‘Found who?’ she asks, slowly, carefully, deliberately.‘They found Daniel.’

Six years ago

Megan waits at the school gates for her six-year-old son, Daniel. As the playground empties, panic bubbles inside her. Daniel is nowhere to be found.

According to his teacher, Daniel’s father picked up his son. Except he and Megan are no longer together. After years of being controlled by her cruel husband, Megan finally found the courage to divorce him. Hands trembling, she dials his number, but the line is dead.

Six years later

Megan is feeding her new baby daughter when she gets the call she has dreamt about for years. Daniel has walked into a police station in a remote town just a few miles away.

Megan is overjoyed – her son is finally coming home. She has kept Daniel’s room, with his Cookie Monster poster on the wall and a stack of Lego under the bed, perfect to welcome him back. But when he returns, Daniel is quieter than she remembers…

Desperate to find out what happened to her little boy and to help him heal, Megan tries everything – his favourite chocolate milkshake, a reunion with his best friend, a present for every birthday missed – but still, Daniel is distant.

And as they struggle to connect, Megan begins to suspect that her son is hiding a secret. A secret that could destroy her family…

A heartbreaking, emotional and poignant drama about a family in turmoil. Fans of Jodi Picoult, Liane Moriarty and Linda Green – this moving and stirring novel is for you. 

 

Buy Links:      Amazon UK                    Amazon US                   Barnes and Noble

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: