splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Five Wakes And A Wedding by Karen Ross #Review #RomCom #BlogTour

Undertaker Nina Sherwood is full of good advice. For example, never wear lip gloss when you’re scattering ashes.

Nina is your average 30-year-old with a steady job, a nice home – and dead bodies in her basement. As an undertaker, she often prefers the company of the dead to the living – they’re obliging, good listeners and take secrets to the grave.

Nina is on a one-woman mission to persuade her peers that passing on is just another part of life. But the residents of Primrose Hill are adamant that a funeral parlour is the last thing they need… and they will stop at nothing to close down her dearly beloved shop.

When Nina’s ‘big break’ funeral turns out to be a prank, it seems like it’s the final nail in the coffin for her new business. That is, until a (tall, dark and) mysterious investor shows up out of the blue, and she decides to take a leap of faith.

Because, after all, it’s her funeral…

The perfect antidote to all those books about weddings, this book will make you laugh until you cry, perfect for fans of Zara Stoneley’s BridesmaidsFour Weddings and a Funeral and The Good Place.

My Review:

This is a romantic comedy starring Nina Sherwood, a funeral director. Not the usual career you’d associate with romantic comedy but Karen Ross manages to add a light hearted aspect to Nina’s experiences as she strives to set up her own business in an area where key members of the community are decidedly against having any such establishment in their high street. The relationships made between Nina and her friends is well established and I enjoyed how she started to make new friends and the character development throughout the novel. There are people to love, others to mistrust and a huge dog, Chopper, to get into mischief. Nina has secrets that she’ll have to reveal but discovering those of others could ruin her chance for romance . . .

This story is a fun read and a definitely different take on funerals. It explores family relationships, expectations, underhand manipulations, romance and much more but always looking on the bright side of life and endeavouring to keep a smile on your face. There were a few of things that stopped me giving this a higher rating but they were personal quibbles – the pacing seemed inconsistent and I didn’t like the diet references which didn’t really fit in with the story but kept appearing. As I said, nothing major but somewhat detracting. It is still an easy read romance to relax and escape into.

I requested and was gifted a copy of this book and this is my honest review after choosing to read it.

Purchase Links

UK – https://www.amazon.co.uk/Five-Wakes-Wedding-Karen-Ross-ebook/dp/B07NXYXFSB

US – https://www.amazon.com/Five-Wakes-Wedding-Karen-Ross-ebook/dp/B07NXYXFSB

Author Bio – As a former journalist, broadcaster and advertising copywriter, Karen Ross has followed a fairly traditional path into writing fiction.   Five Wakes and a Wedding is her fourth book, and like its predecessors, the novel has two common threads:  the setting is London’s Primrose Hill – Karen’s own neighbourhood – and one of the characters is a dog . . . this time he’s called Chopper and he’s almost the same size as a Shetland Pony

Karen has been self-employed for many years, and continues to work as a marketing consultant, in the absence of an offer to manage Tottenham Hotspur.  By way of credentials, her other ‘job’ is trading profitably on the world’s first football stockmarket, a platform called Football Index, where you buy and sell players with real money.

Social Media Links – @ComedyKaren

https://karenross.online/

Follow the Tour:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: