splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Summer at the Highland Coral Beach by Kiley Dunbar

Escape to the Highland Coral Beach – where broken hearts can be healed

Beatrice Halliday needs a break from life. Booking a trip to the Highlands on a whim, Beatrice hopes learning Gaelic in a beautiful Scottish village might help her heal her grief after losing her baby, her husband and her much loved job in a space of months.

But Port Willow Bay isn’t exactly as the website promised. Instead of learning a new language, she’s booked in to learn the ancient skill of willow weaving, her hotel room is Princess and the Pea themed (with a stack of mattresses for her bed!) and worse still, her tutor is Atholl Fergusson, grumpy landlord of the hotel where Beatrice is staying – and she’s the only one doing the course.

But as Beatrice finds herself falling in love with Port Willow Bay and its people, and as she discovers the kind heart beneath Atholl’s stony exterior, can she really leave?

Escape to the beautiful Scottish Highlands with this utterly romantic, feelgood book; one visit to Port Willow Bay and you’ll want to come back! Fans of Sarah Morgan, Carole Matthews and Holly Martin will be captivated.

My Review:

This is a roller coaster romance, starting with hope, dashed with disaster, unexpected escape, dramatic encounters and a heartwarming finale that even has another twist! It deals with some difficult issues in a sensitive manner, without making light of the heartbreak they cause.

Beatrice Halliday has had enough. In just a few months she lost her job, her baby and her husband of ten years. Wanting a change, she books a holiday to Port Willow Bay, a beautiful Scottish seaside village where she hopes endeavouring to learn Gaelic will be just the distraction she needs. However, there’s been a mistake with her booking and instead she’s booked to learn how to willow weave. Not only that but the taciturn landlord and his brother aren’t exactly welcoming or sympathetic. She decides to head home but there’s no train . . . . Will this be the holiday from hell or prove to be a life-changing experience?

The idyllic setting, brilliant characters and possibilities all add to this lovely story. The sense of community and working together is skilfully interwoven through this story which also includes more than one romance. The Princess and the Pea bedroom sounds like a dream . . . . or should that be a nightmare? There’s matchmaking, healing, second chances and new possibilities in this delightful story that I have no hesitation in highly recommending. I’ll certainly be looking out for more by this author in future as I’ve thoroughly enjoyed everything I’ve read by her.

I requested and was gifted a copy of this book and this is my honest review after choosing to read it.

Purchase Links

AMZ: https://amzn.to/2UEMSV3

Kobo: http://bit.ly/2UHgS2w

Author Bio

Kiley Dunbar is the author of heart-warming, escapist, romantic fiction set in beautiful places.

JOAN HESSAYON AWARD FOR DEBUT NOVELISTS FINALIST 2019 FOR ONE SUMMER’S NIGHT.

Kiley is Scottish and lives in England with her husband, two kids and Amos the Bedlington Terrier. She writes around her work at a University in the North of England where she lectures in English Literature and creative writing. She is proud to be a member of the Romantic Novelists’ Association and a graduate of their New Writers’ Scheme.

Kiley’s third novel, Summer at the Highland Coral Beach (coming 27th March 2020) The first of the Port Willow Bay series is on Pre-order right now!!

One Summer’s Night was Kiley’s first novel (published by Hera Books) and is on sale now!
Don’t forget there’s also a fabulous audible audiobook narrated by Eilidh Beaton.

Kiley’s cosy, sexy-swoony, very snowy festive romcom Christmas at Frozen Falls is on sale NOW too!

Social Media Links –

https://twitter.com/kileydunbar

https://www.facebook.com/KileyDunbarAuthor/

Follow the tour:

Many thanks to Rachel’s Random Resources for providing materials for this post and organising the tour it is part of.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: