splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Early Review: Broken Silence by Liz Mistry #5*Review #CrimeThriller #Series #BlogTour

 

Title: Broken Silence

Series:  DS Nikki Parekh #2

Author: Liz Mistry

Series: DS Nikki Parekh #2

Publisher: HQ

Published: April 24th, 2020

Rating: 5/5*

 

My Review:

If you enjoy crime thrillers, look no further – this is an enthralling, intriguing excellent example of the genre, an unputdownable and exciting read.

A police officer, DS Felicity Springer, had been away at a police training conference and she can’t believe what happened but there’s worse to come . . . . and she disappears.

DS Nikki Parekh and DC Sajid Malik are partners in the Bradford police and are called in to investigate her disappearance . . . . then a body turns up, then another . . . . Something is building to a climax . . . Someone evil is manipulating everyone . . . Can these two officers and their team thwart discover the instigator and avert their plans?

This truly is an action packed crime thriller. The ‘office politics’, personal lives of officers, interactions and relationships are all explored in this dramatic portrayal of city and police life. The plot has so many twists and turns, it keeps you guessing right to the gripping finale. It is a fantastic read and one that lockdown enabled me to finish in a day. If you’re looking for a riveting read and enjoy crime thrillers, I suggest you get yourself a copy of this to escape into – its an amazing read that I really can’t recommend highly enough! I’ll certainly be looking out for more by Liz Mistry in future, including more in this series.

I requested and was gifted a copy of this book via NetGalley and this is my honest review after choosing to read it and finding it an engrossing story, superb to escape into!

Synopsis:

When DS Felicity Springer is reported missing after a police training conference, the countdown to find her begins…

On her way home after an exhausting weekend, with colleagues she can’t wait to escape, Felicity notices something odd about the white van in front of her. A hand has punched through the car’s rear light and is frantically waving, trying to catch her attention.

Desperate to help, Felicity dials 999 and calls it in. But whilst on the phone, she loses control of the car on the icy road, crashing straight into the vehicle ahead.

Pinned in the seat and unable to move, Felicity feels a sudden whoosh of cold air across her face. Someone has opened the passenger door… and they have a gun.

With Felicity missing and no knowledge of whether she is dead or alive, DS Nikki Parekh and DC Sajid Malik race to find their friend and colleague.

But Felicity was harbouring a terrible secret, and with her life now hanging in the balance, Nikki can only hope that someone will come forward and break the silence…

The next gripping crime thriller in the D.S. Nikki Parekh series, for fans of Angela Marsons and L.J. Ross

Readers LOVE Liz Mistry:

I devoured this over two nights, literally not being able to put it down.’ 5 stars, NetGalley reviewer

Amazing… A story so twisted it makes your head spin in a good way.’ 5 stars, NetGalley reviewer

‘An excellent crime thriller… Entertaining and exciting and a particularly satisfying finale… Engrossing.’ 5 stars, NetGalley reviewer

Gripping from beginning to end, and I enjoyed each and every moment of it!’ 5 stars, NetGalley reviewer

From the first page to the last it kept you gripped.’ 5 stars, NetGalley reviewer

Great read!’ 5 stars, NetGalley reviewer

A cracking good read.’ 5 stars, NetGalley reviewer

Blog Tour Schedule:

 

3 comments on “Early Review: Broken Silence by Liz Mistry #5*Review #CrimeThriller #Series #BlogTour

  1. Thanks so much for this brilliant review. I’m so glad you liked Nikki and the team. Stay safe and well xx

    Like

  2. Linda Knock
    April 21, 2020

    Great review – try Liz’s Gus McGuire books – wonderful characters 🙂

    Like

    • bicted
      April 21, 2020

      Thank you – I definitely need to check them out – thank you for the recommendation, too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: