splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

#BookPromo for The Wheelwright’s Daughter by Eleanor Porter #Historical #BlogTour

 

Title: The Wheelwright’s Daughter 

Author: Eleanor Porter

Genre: Historical Fiction

Publisher: Boldwood Books

Publication Date: 21st April 2020

Standalone Novel

Estimated Word Count – 88k

 

Pre-Order Link – https://amzn.to/3bYX4y2

Can she save herself from a witch’s fate?

Martha is a feisty and articulate young woman, the daughter of a wheelwright, living in a Herefordshire villlage in Elizabethan England. Unusually for the time she is educated and so helps at the local school whilst longing to escape the confines and small-mindedness of a community riven by religious bigotry and poverty.

As she is able to read and is well-versed in herbal remedies she is suspected of being a witch. When a landslip occurs – opening up a huge chasm in the centre of the village – she is blamed for it and pursued remorselessly by the villagers.

But can her own wits and the love of local stablehand Jacob save her from a witch’s persecution and death…

A brilliant and accomplished novel that perfectly captures the febrile atmosphere of Elizabethan village life in an age when suspicion and superstition were rife. Perfect for fans of Tracy Chevalier.

 

 

About Eleanor Porter

Eleanor Porter has lectured at Universities in England and Hong Kong and her poetry and short fiction has been published in magazines. The Wheelwright’s Daughter is her first novel.

 

 

 

Social Media Links

  • Eleanor Porter Facebook
  • Eleanor Porter Twitter
  • Eleanor Porter Instagram

Newsletter sign up: http://bit.ly/EleanorPorterNewsletter

Blog Tour Schedule

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: