splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

#5*Review for Art and Soul by Claire Huston #Contemporary #Romance #BlogTour

Title: Art and Soul 

Author: Claire Huston

Genre: Contemporary romance

Publication Date: 23rd April 2020

Estimated Page Count – 394

Purchase Link: getbook.at/ClaireHustonAandS

Rating: 5/5*

 

My Review:

This is a great read that I thoroughly enjoyed. I hadn’t read anything by this author before, so wasn’t sure what to expect. I’ve discovered she’s going straight onto my favourites list as someone who writes books that are a pleasure to escape into with great characters and plenty of twists and turns to keep you wondering how everything can be resolved.

Becky Watson is a fixer for other people – it is her job! Unfortunately she can’t fix her own life in the same way she does for everyone else. She’s a single Mum with a mischievous two year old son and she has been contacted by someone who would like Becky to fix her brother, John Charles Handren (aka Charlie), because he seems to have become a recluse, apart from when he’s dealing with his seventeen year old daughter, Phoebe. He reluctantly agrees to hire Becky and she sets out to help him return to being a successful artist and hopes to help him find love again, too. However, the best laid plans so often go wrong . . . . just how, you’ll have to read the book to find out!

I was so impressed with Becky as a character – she’s brilliant at discovering just the right person to help move things in the right direction! As the relationship between Becky and Charlie develops there are plenty of laugh out loud moments and it definitely put a huge grin on my face as I read it. This is a delightful book to totally escape into, packed with humour, love, friendships, family and romance. I’ll definitely be looking for more by this talented author in future!

I requested and was gifted a copy of this book and this is my honest review after choosing to read it.

Synopsis

There’s no problem Becky Watson can’t fix. Except her own love life…

Struggling single mother Becky Watson longs to revive her career as a life-fixer, working miracles to solve her clients’ problems, no matter how big or small. Since the birth of her two-year-old son she has been stuck preventing wedding fiascos for the richest and rudest residents of the Comptons, a charming, leafy area of southern England known for its artistic heritage.

So when semi-reclusive local artist Charlie Handren reluctantly hires Becky to fix his six-year creative slump, she’s delighted to set him up with a come-back exhibition and Rachel Stone, the woman of his dreams.

Though they get off to a rocky start, Becky and Charlie soon become close. But as the beautiful Rachel becomes Charlie’s muse, Becky is forced to wonder: will giving Charlie everything he wants mean giving up her own happily ever after?

A heart-warming, uplifting romance served with a generous slice of cake. Perfect for fans of Jill Mansell, Katie Fforde and Cathy Kelly.

 

About Claire Huston

​Claire Huston lives in Warwickshire with her husband and two children. Art and Soul is her first novel.

A keen amateur baker, she enjoys making cakes, biscuits and brownies almost as much as eating them. You can find recipes for all the cakes mentioned in Art and Soul at www.clairehuston.co.uk along with over 100 other recipes. This is also where she talks about and reviews books.

 

 

Follow Claire Huston

  • Claire Huston Twitter
  • Claire Huston Facebook
  • Claire Huston Pinterest

4 comments on “#5*Review for Art and Soul by Claire Huston #Contemporary #Romance #BlogTour

  1. Claire | Art and Soul
    April 23, 2020

    Thank you so much! I’m thrilled to bits that you enjoyed the book.
    I think I will have to write a sequel after all! 🙂
    Thank you for taking part in my blog tour x

    Liked by 1 person

    • bicted
      April 23, 2020

      Thank you for writing such a great read! As I wrote before, I’ll definitely look out for more by you in future ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  2. carhicks
    April 24, 2020

    After reading your review, Elaine, this sounds like an author I am going to have to watch out for.

    Like

    • bicted
      April 24, 2020

      I suspect you’ll enjoy this as much as I did! I’ll definitely be looking out for more by her in future – hope you get to read this, too! ☺

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: