splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

#5*Review for The First Date by Zara Stoneley #RomCom #Funny #BlogTour

 

Title: The First Date

A heartwarming and laugh out loud romantic comedy perfect for summer escape

Author: Zara Stoneley

 

 

My Review:

What a laugh out loud fun read this proved to be, with a couple who you just know will get together if only they can be brave enough to admit their true feelings to themselves let alone each other! They aren’t the only fantastic characters in this story, they’re all portrayed brilliantly so they seem like folks you have met and know but it is the development of the relationship between Rosie and Noah that provides most of the laughs as he endeavours to help her learn how to date so she can date someone else . . . .

The story explores family dynamics and the impact of Rosie’s adulterous father on her ability to trust and love. He’s definitely not a likeable character, despite his winning ways with other women, he’s an ego-centric bully who seems to thrive on undermining the self confidence of Rosie, who constantly seeks his approval but doesn’t get it. Her Mum is brilliant and her revelations at the party definitely brought a smile to my face! There are also surprising revelations regarding Noah’s family and his teen years but you need to read the book for yourself to find out more! It is a story packed with humour, all the lessons on dating are brought to life in the pages of the book and had me laughing out loud.

This is a great read that I thoroughly enjoyed and have no hesitation in highly recommending, a fabulous story to escape into and put a smile on your face as you read it, another winner by this highly talented author.

Synopsis:

From the USA Today bestselling author of The Wedding Date!

Right place.
Right time.
Wrong guy.

After breaking up with her childhood sweetheart, clueless dater Rosie has found herself in a boyfriend-drought. So when she finally swipes right on a guy who seems interested, she can’t wait to meet up IRL.

Until she’s left standing alone. In a bar. Ghosted.

Enter Noah. Confident, funny… and a serial first dater. Offering to give Rosie a crash course in seduction, this could be just what she needs. Until her matchmaker turns out to be the best date she’s ever had – and Rosie wonders if she wants the fake dates to be the real ones after all…

A hilarious, heartwarming romantic comedy about what happens when the wrong guy turns up at the right time, perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella and Debbie Johnson.

About Zara Stoneley

USA Today bestselling author Zara Stoneley writes funny, contemporary romances that will whisk you away from the humdrum of everyday life and make you laugh out loud.

Growing up she wanted to be James Bond or UK veterinary surgeon James Herriot – instead she dallied with a career in IT consultancy, ran a dog grooming business, and had a brief spell teaching (variety is the spice of life!) before finally writing a bestselling novel and realising that at heart she’d always been an author.

She enjoys torturing (in a nice way) her characters for your pleasure and writes about friendship, pesky pets, troublesome relatives, hopes, dreams, love and happy ever afters. Her aim is to make you laugh a lot, cry a little, and occasionally say ‘ahhh’.

Follow her Facebook page http://www.facebook.com/ZaraStoneley to find out more about her home life in a Cheshire village with her family, a (very) lively cockapoo called Harry, and a bossy (and slightly evil) cat called Saffron. Zara’s bestselling novels have been translated into several languages and sold around the world. They include ‘Four Christmases and a Secret’, ‘Bridesmaids’, ‘No One Cancels Christmas’, ‘The Wedding Date’, ‘The Holiday Swap’, ‘Summer with the Country Village Vet’, ‘Blackberry Picking at Jasmine Cottage’ and the popular Tippermere series – ‘Stable Mates’, ‘Country Affairs’ and ‘Country Rivals’.

Social Media Links

Website – http://www.zarastoneley.com

Bookbub: https://www.bookbub.com/authors/zara-stoneley?follow=true

Zara Stoneley Twitter Zara Stoneley InstagramZara Stoneley FacebookZara Stoneley Amazon

Follow the rest of the blog tour:

One comment on “#5*Review for The First Date by Zara Stoneley #RomCom #Funny #BlogTour

  1. carhicks
    May 2, 2020

    Sounds fun, great review Elaine.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: