splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

#5*Review : A Shop Girl At Sea by Rachel Brimble #Titanic #Adventure #Series #BlogTour

I originally posted my review for this brilliant book on April 14th but am more than happy to share it with you again as part of this tour for it, organised by Rachel’s Random Resources….

About the book

Bath, 1912.

Amelia Wakefield loves working at Pennington’s, Bath’s finest department store. An escape from her traumatic past, it saved her life. So when Miss Pennington sets her a task to set sail on the Titanic and study the department stores of New York, she couldn’t be more excited – or determined!

Frustrated with his life at home, Samuel Murphy longs for a few weeks of freedom and adventure. Meeting Amelia on board the Titanic, Samuel can’t help wonder what painful history has made the beauty so reserved. But he already has too many responsibilities for love.

Ruby Taylor has always kept her Pennington co-workers at a distance. Making sure her little brother is safe has always been her priority. But when that means accepting Victoria Lark’s offer of sanctuary, more than one of Ruby’s secrets is under threat of being revealed…

A riveting and uplifting saga, perfect for fans of Elaine Everest and Fiona Ford.

My Review:

I’ve been enjoying all the stories in this series and, although they have many characters in common with the previous three books, I believe you could easily read and enjoy this one without having read the others – but they are all well worth reading IMHO. This story is set in 1912 and centres around Pennington’s, a prestigious department store in Bath, and the people who work there -and the Titanic.

This story has two very different romances as well as involving characters travelling on the ill fated Titanic, so for much of this story I admit I was awaiting reading the fate of the characters who were sailing on it. Life on board the Titanic is brought to life through vivid descriptions, the different classes, decks and people are all included as the tragic journey progresses.

It was a real page turner, an emotional, adventure packed read.  There are some moving family dramas, with a mix of characters you’ll love and others you definitely won’t! It has some heartbreaking scenes and lots of love, too, all making this a delightful, entrancing story about resilience and resolve, overcoming your past and daring to follow your dreams and your heart.

I requested and was gifted a copy of this book and this is my honest review after choosing to read it and being totally absorbed in it so much that I had to stay up to finish it, I just couldn’t put it down! I highly recommend travelling back in time to 1912 with this book and escaping your current reality!

Buy links

Kobo: https://bit.ly/2TcCv8y

Amazon: https://amzn.to/2HSZ1OC

Google Play: https://bit.ly/2PrvM9M

iBooks: https://apple.co/2uBz17q

 

About the author

Rachel Brimble lives in Wiltshire with her husband of twenty years, two teenage daughters and her beloved chocolate Labrador, Tyler. Multi-published in the US, she is thrilled to have a new beginning writing for Aria in the UK. When Rachel isn’t writing, she enjoys reading across the genres, knitting and walking the English countryside with her family…often stopping off at a country pub for lunch and a chilled glass of Sauvignon Blanc.

Follow Rachel:    

Twitter: @RachelBrimble

Facebook: @RachelBrimble

Follow Aria:

Website: www.ariafiction.com

Twitter: @aria_fiction

Facebook: @ariafiction

Instagram: @ariafiction

Here are all the titles in this series:

 

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: