splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

#5*Review for The Little Village of New Starts by Donna Ashcroft #Contemporary #Highlands #Romance #BlogTour

Title: The Little Village of New Starts   

Author: Donna Ashcroft

Publisher: Bookouture

Buy  Links:      

https://geni.us/B084QQGH87Social

 

My Review:

If you’re looking for a lovely, heartwarming contemporary romance, grab yourself a copy of this delightful story – it really is a fabulous, sweet romance! Yes, there are problems to be overcome and quandaries to be faced but it is such a fantastic story with not just one romance involved in it!

Lockton is a small village in the Scottish Highlands and the community there is brilliant! There’s a recalcitrant whisky distiller, a witchy grandmother, a cheeky parrot and a pygmy goat with a crush as well as a hot American firefighter and a lovely Scottish lass who has been burnt by love and is now hiding herself away on her family farm. Together their stories are skilfully interwoven to create a picture of rural life in this dramatic location. The American is Callum Ryder and he’s come to stay for a month whilst he endeavours to find his biological grandfather but he never anticipated just how it would change his life . . . .

This is such a superb read, a great story to escape into with all the trials and tribulations, competitions, secrets, mystery and romance intertwined to make a really relaxing, absorbing page turner. I have absolutely no hesitation in highly recommending escaping into it and I’d love to visit this idyllic location and community (obviously only virtually during the current lockdown).

Thank you to the publishers for for gifting me a copy of this book via NetGalley. This is my honest review after choosing to read it and thoroughly enjoying doing so.

Description:

Sometimes turning everything upside down feels just right…

Evie Stuart is playing it safe. She lives on her family’s remote farm in the Scottish Highlands and never ventures beyond the local village of Lockton. The most unpredictable events in her life are the antics of Miss Daisy, her grandmother Agnes’s pygmy goat. She’s learned that bad things happen when she’s impulsive, and she’s determined not to get burned again.

Callum Ryder is exactly the opposite of what Evie wants in her ordered world. Six foot two of reckless energy with twinkling eyes and a dangerously charming smile, he’s a thrill-seeking American firefighter with no idea how to slow down. Callum enters Lockton like a whirlwind, fleeing his problems in New York City in search of the truth about his Scottish family.

Yet the pair might have more in common than they think… When the well-meaning Agnes persuades her to help Callum find his grandfather, Evie finds herself being challenged more than she has in years: from swimming in the fabled Bonnie Lochan to exploring an ancient castle and even entering the village jam-making championships. Turns out it’s easy for Evie and Callum to connect when they let go of their fears and enjoy the most surprising summer of their lives.

But getting close to Callum so quickly soon starts to look like it might ruin everything for Evie: she’s heading for a disaster exactly like the one that destroyed her a year ago when she fell for the wrong man and let him change her life. Maybe a fresh start isn’t going to be so simple after all… Is the safe haven Evie’s built about to crumble down around her?

A totally charming and moving story about being true to yourself, the power of new beginnings, and one magical summer that changes everything. Perfect for fans of Debbie Johnson, Carolyn Brown and Phillipa Ashley.

  

Author Bio:

Donna Ashcroft was born in London and grew up in Buckinghamshire. She went to university in Lancashire and, among other things, worked as a copywriter, buyer, waitress, secretary and marketing manager.

Donna wrote novels for over ten years before being published. She is a member of the Romantic Novelists Association and was a joint winner of the Katie Fforde Bursary in 2017.
Donna loves a happy ending and is never happier than when she’s escaping into a romance novel or movie. When she’s not reading or writing she’ll probably be found hoovering … or negotiating with her teenagers about who is doing the washing up.

Author Social Media Links:

Website: www.donna-writes.co.uk

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DonnaAshcroftAuthor/

Twitter:  https://twitter.com/Donnashc

3 comments on “#5*Review for The Little Village of New Starts by Donna Ashcroft #Contemporary #Highlands #Romance #BlogTour

  1. carhicks
    May 17, 2020

    This sounds like a great summer read, wonderful review Elaine.

    Like

    • bicted
      May 18, 2020

      Carla, it is simply brilliant – can’t recommend it highly enough! Hope you get to read it, too!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback:  Fabulous Festive read – If Every Day Was Christmas by Donna Ashcroft #Review #Christmas #BookOnTour | splashesintobooks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: