splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

#Review for The Second Chance Hotel by Rachel Dove #SecondChance #Romance

 

Title: The Second Chance Hotel

Author: Rachel Dove

Publisher: HQ Digital

Pages: 384 

Rating: 4/5*

 

 

My Review:

This story is packed with second chances – but without a hotel, despite the title! Actually, that reference comes from April’s Mum but it had me pondering to start with as the story is largely set in a Cornish chalet park. April Statham has left behind her cheating ex-husband and her life in Yorkshire to make a fresh start as the owner of the Shady Pines Chalet Park which she has fond memories of visiting as a child. Unfortunately, it is now rather dilapidated and run down but, after a close encounter with a bat wielding resident and a hunky handyman, she’s determined to make the best of her new life, but there are plenty more surprises in store for her and even a possible HEA, if only she can be brave again!

This is an engaging story of adventure, friendships, letters and romance in a seaside setting. There’s more than one potential romance involved as well as a traumatised four year old, lots of hard work and plenty of new opportunities. It is a lovely story to escape into, a feel-good read to put a smile on your face ☺ It is a story of family as well as liking yourself and being ready to move on.

I requested and was gifted a copy of this book and this is my honest review after choosing to read it and enjoying doing so.

Buy Link: Amazon

Synopsis:

“I absolutely loved this book… This has been the escape read I have been looking for.” 5 Stars, Netgalley reviewer

April Statham had it all – until her husband left her for a blonde ten years her junior. Now she’s thirty-five, single, and starting again. So she does what anyone in her position would do: she impulsively invests her life savings in the chalet park she used to visit as a child, on the beautiful Cornish Coast.

The Shady Pines Chalet Park is… ramshackle. But it has one big advantage – it is as far as physically possible from April’s ex, his new fiancée, and her old life. With gorgeous handyman Cillian O’Leary, April is looking forward to the challenge.

As visitors arrive, April realises that Shady Pines isn’t just a second chance for her, it gives Cillian another shot at happiness too.

But when he moves into the chalet next door, April’s painful past starts to catch up with her, and she struggles to reconcile her feelings for Cillian.

Is April’s new beginning destined to end in failure – or will she find new friends, a new life and new love at her second chance hotel?

Fans of Jenny Colgan, Emma Davies and Debbie Johnson will love Rachel Dove!

Readers LOVE Rachel Dove!

‘A gorgeous tale of romance, family ties and village life! Loved it!’ Amazon Reviewer

What an utterly amazing book that covers every aspect of human life.’ Amazon Reviewer

‘Heartwarming, funny and relatable. I loved this feel-good story.’ Amazon Reviewer

‘An excellent read’ Amazon Reviewer

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: