splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

#5*Review for The Summer Island Swap by Samantha Tonge

About the book

Sometimes the best holidays are the ones you least expect…

After a long and turbulent year, Sarah is dreaming of the five-star getaway her sister has booked them on. White sands, cocktails, massages, the Caribbean is calling to them.

But the sisters turn up to tatty beaches, basic wooden shacks, a compost toilet and outdoor cold water showers. It turns out that at the last minute Amy decided a conservation project would be much more fun than a luxury resort.

So now Sarah’s battling mosquitos, trying to stomach fish soup and praying for a swift escape. Life on a desert island though isn’t all doom and gloom. They’re at one with nature, learning about each other and making new friends. And Sarah is distracted by the dishy, yet incredibly moody, island leader she’s sure is hiding a secret.

Perfect for fans of Holly Martin, Mandy Baggot and Heidi Swain.

My Review:

Samantha Tonge is one of the authors whose books I just can’t wait to read and this proved another brilliant story to escape into from her! This is a fantastic story of siblings, looking after each other and discovering more about yourself, your abilities and your dreams – as well as a heartwarming romance. It is about expectations, being out of your comfort zone and finding inspiration and another superb story from this highly talented author.

How would you react if your much loved younger sibling won a prize on the lottery and booked you both a whole month away at a fabulous luxury holiday resort? Excited? Eager? Delighted? Despite problems with her boss, Sarah feels all those things. However, imagine her reaction when it turns out Amy revised their plans. Instead of a luxury holiday they’re going to work on a conservation project….. forget the luxurious accommodation and activities, think emptying communal compost toilets, showers with only cold running water – and tarantulas – and no air conditioning. To say Sarah is shocked is an understatement! However, sometimes unexpected changes can have life changing impacts . . . . what you are disappointed has changed can actually lead to something even better and help not only yourself but others, too.

With great insights into sibling relationships, the need for conservation projects, more than one romance, fabulous characters, a superb setting and a delightful, mischievous monkey I absolutely loved this story and have no hesitation at all in highly recommending it.

I requested and was gifted a copy of this via NetGalley and this is my honest review after thoroughly enjoying reading it.

About the Author

Samantha Tonge lives in Manchester UK with her husband and children. She studied German and French at university and has worked abroad, including a stint at Disneyland Paris. She has travelled widely.
When not writing she passes her days cycling, baking and drinking coffee. Samantha has sold many dozens of short stories to women’s magazines. 
She is represented by the Darley Anderson literary agency. In 2013, she landed a publishing deal for romantic comedy fiction with HQDigital at HarperCollins and in 2014, her bestselling debut, Doubting Abbey, was shortlisted for the Festival of Romantic Fiction best Ebook award. In 2015 her summer novel, Game of Scones, hit #5 in the UK Kindle chart and won the Love Stories Awards Best Romantic Ebook category. In 2018 Forgive Me Not, heralded a new direction into darker women’s fiction with publisher Canelo. In 2019 she was shortlisted for the Romantic Novelists’ Association romantic comedy award

Follow Samantha

Website: http://samanthatonge.co.uk/

Twitter: @SamTongeWriter

Facebook: @SamanthaTongeAuthor

Buy links:

Amazon: https://amzn.to/2AklZNU

Kobo: https://bit.ly/333XuPn

Google Play: https://bit.ly/2IuyI1q

Follow Aria

Website: www.ariafiction.com

Twitter: @aria_fiction

Facebook: @ariafiction

Instagram: @ariafiction

Follow the tour:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: