splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

#Review for Sweet Pea Summer by Alys Murray #Contemporary #Series #BBOT

Title:  Sweet Pea Summer

Series: Full Bloom Farm #2

Author: Alys Murray

Publisher: Bookouture

Published: June 16th, 2020

Pages: 235

Rating: 4/5*

 

My Review:

I had thoroughly enjoyed reading The Magnolia Sisters so jumped at the opportunity to read this second book in the series. The first book featured Harper Anderson as the heroine and it is her younger sister May who is the star for this story. When May was seventeen she’d promised to leave Hillsboro with her high school sweetheart, Tom Riley. However, she changed her mind and he left alone. However, she never told anyone she was the one who changed her mind and Tom is facing community censure for breaking her heart even eight years later when he returns to his family vineyard.

When the organiser of the North West Food and Wine Festival has to pull out, May surprises everyone by jumping up to take over. That’s when her friend suggests that she needs an assistant and coerces Tom into taking that role. Will this be their opportunity to rekindle their teen romance? Can May be honest with everyone and show that Tom doesn’t deserve his bad reputation in the community? Can Tom help May organise the festival and save his family’s business? So many questions and you’ll just have to read it for yourself to discover the answers!

This is a lovely addition to this series, though I believe it would still work to read it as a standalone. May has protected herself by never revealing the truth but to win Tom’s trust and love she’ll need to be brave and let others know just what really happened. It is a story of a small community, family, friendship, lies, truth and love, an engaging story and heartwarming read.

Many thanks to Bookouture for gifting me a copy of this book via NetGalley. This is my honest review after choosing to read it.

Synopsis:

Can you ever really forget your first love?

It’s been eight long years since May Anderson’s high school sweetheart Tom Riley drove down Main Street in his truck, leaving Hillsboro—and May—in his rearview mirror. Now he’s back and, try as they might, the pair can’t avoid each other.

As Hillsboro prepares to host the prestigious North West Food and Wine Festival, Tom and May are reluctantly called in to plan the big event. Tom needs May’s help to repair his bad-boy reputation and, with the whole town counting on them, May and Tom need to learn to trust each other again.

May is determined to protect her heart, but a lot has changed since high school. She can’t help but notice how the skinny boy she used to know is now a man who perfectly fills out his button-down, and Tom can’t seem to tear his gaze away from May’s sweet smile. It’s clear old feelings are surfacing again, but there is a secret keeping them apart and, until they find the courage to face it, their second chance summer will be only that…

A heartwarming story about first love, family and the importance of second chances. Fans of Jenny Hale, Debbie Macomber and Robyn Carr will adore Sweet Pea Summer.

Author Bio:
Alys Murray is an author who writes for the romantic in all of us. Though she graduated with a degree in Drama from NYU’s Tisch School of the Arts and a Master’s in Film Studies from King’s College London, her irrepressible love of romance led her to a career as an author, and she couldn’t be happier to write these stories! Currently splitting time between her home state of Louisiana and London, she enjoys kissing books, Star Wars, and creating original pie recipes for all of her books. Tobey Maguire is her Spider-Man.
 www.alysmurray.com
facebook.com/alysmurrayauthor
 instagram.com/writeralys
twitter.com/writeralys
Buy Links:
Amazon: https://bit.ly/2MJddfi
Apple: https://apple.co/3eYW51g
Kobo: https://bit.ly/2BR2xcF
Google: https://bit.ly/37cqFSB
Follow the tour:
Many thanks to Bookouture Books-on-tour for gifting me a copy of this book, providing materials for this post and organising the tour it is part of. The review is my honest opinion after choosing to read this book.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: