splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

#Review for The Wild Way Home by Sophie Kirtley #Children’s #StoneAge #MGReader

Title: The Wild Way Home

Author: Sophie Kirtley

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing Plc (UK & ANZ)

Pub Date

Pages: 256

Rating: 4.5/5*

 

 

My Review:

What an enthralling middle grade reader this proved to be – I think children will love it and so will their teachers! This is a superb story that I would definitely have used with pupils in my class so highly recommend to primary teachers to check out, especially if they are doing any work relating to the stone age or anything concerning family and courage.

Charlie has always wanted a sibling and was eagerly anticipating their arrival. His brother is born near midnight on the day before Charlie’s twelfth birthday but the excitement is tinged with dread as his baby brother is born with a heart defect that needs immediate surgery. That news has Charlie literally running off to the nearby forest where he usually plays with his friends. This time, however, he finds a boy, lying in the river and discovers that he may be on familiar ground but he’s no longer in his own time! Thus starts a moving adventure set in the stone age in which he discovers the meaning of family and how important it is to ‘make safe’.

This story has great descriptions, fantastic characters and plenty of adventures, too. It is an enthralling and somewhat emotional read which I thoroughly enjoyed.

I requested and was gifted a copy of this book via NetGalley and this is my honest review after choosing to read it.

Synopsis:

An unforgettable adventure about courage and family that will plunge you back into the Stone Age…. And then lead you back home.  

When Charlie’s baby brother is born with a problem in his heart, Charlie RUNS. Runs to the forest, with its sheltering leaves that shut out trouble and hurt and fear.

But in the forest is a boy, lying in the river, dressed in deerskins, only just breathing. And when Charlie goes for help, the forest has changed. Now it’s something vast and strange. Something ancient. Something WILD.

And Charlie is a long, long way from home.

Fans of Piers Torday and Sophie Anderson will delight in this thrilling, wise and heartfelt adventure as Charlie and the Stone Age boy set out together to find what they have lost – their courage, their hope, the family and their way home.

Author information:

Sophie Kirtley grew up in Northern Ireland and spent her childhood climbing on hay bales, rolling down sand dunes and leaping the raw Atlantic waves. Nowadays she lives in Wiltshire with her family and their mini-menagerie of pets and wild things.

Sophie has always loved stories: she has taught English, and has worked in a theatre, a bookshop and a tiny pub where folk tell fairy tales by candlelight. She is a prize-winning published poet. The Wild Way Home is her debut novel.

@KirtleySophie

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: