splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

The Village Shop For Lonely Hearts by Alison Sherlock

A feel-good story of new beginnings set in a gorgeous country village, perfect for fans of Katie Fforde and Milly Johnson.


After losing her job in New York, Amber Green isn’t looking forward to visiting her godmother in the sleepy village of Cranbridge. With its empty lanes and rundown shops, it’s hardly a place to mend her lonely heart.

But when Amber discovers that Cranbridge Stores, owned by her godmother Cathy and son Josh, is under threat of financial ruin, she realises that her skills as a window dresser might just be able to help save the struggling shop.

When disaster strikes, Amber and Josh must unite to save both the shop and the village from flooding.

Can Cranbridge Stores become the heart of the village once more?

And as the village begins to come back to life, perhaps Amber will discover a reason to stay…

Purchase Links – https://amzn.to/2VPGfzh

My Review:

I am so happy this is the first book in a new series – the characters in Cranbridge are brilliant and I can’t wait to read more about their lives and antics! Mind you, maybe someone should ensure there’s a guard rail on the pedestrian river crossing to help prevent Amber and Josh or anyone else falling in in future!

This really is a feel-good read to put a smile on your face, it certainly did on mine. The change in the whole community as Amber and Josh help sort out the Cranbridge Stores is brilliantly portrayed and believable. There’s a fantastic mix of characters, most of whom you learn to love, especially as they all come together for both the flood and Christmas market. It is a heartwarming story of community, self-evaluation, using your talents to help others and romance written with Alison Sherlock’s usual skill in bringing everything to life within the pages of her books. It is so easy to imagine the characters and setting, the antics and activities as they are so well portrayed. I really enjoyed escaping into this story and can’t wait to read more about Cranbridge folk in future. I have absolutely no hesitation in highly recommending this as a delightful read to escape into.

I requested and was gifted a copy of this book and this is my honest review after thoroughly enjoying reading this fantastic read.

Author Bio

Alison Sherlock is the author of the bestselling Willow Tree Hall books. Alison enjoyed reading and writing stories from an early age and gave up office life to follow her dream. Her new series for Boldwood is set in a fictional Cotswold Village and the first title will be published in July 2020.

Social Media Links –

Twitter https://twitter.com/AlisonSherlock

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/alison.sherlock.73

Bookbub https://www.bookbub.com/authors/alison-sherlock

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: