splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

My #Review of Deadly Wishes by Rachel McLean #CrimeThriller #Murder #Mystery #Detective #Series #BlogTour

 

 

I am so happy to be involved in the blog tour for this book today! I couldn’t resist joining in when I saw who the author was – read on to discover what I thought of this book:

My Review:

This is the first book in a new series starring police Detective Zoe Finch. She is a single Mum with a seventeen year old son. She is straight talking, outspoken and determined as well as ambitious. Recently she had a key role in the Canary investigation which uncovered corruption and depravity involving powerful people and, as a result, she’s been temporarily promoted to the role of acting Detective Inspector and attracted the attention of her superior officers. However, when she attended the retirement party for one of those officers, Assistant Chief Constable Bryn Jackson, she has no suspicion that he’d be murdered that same evening and that she’d be involved in endeavouring to bring his killer to justice.

This is a fascinating police detective drama, one where so many people aren’t quite as they seem and there are surprising revelations throughout the investigation. As her new boss DCI David Randle seems determined to thwart the endeavours of her and her team, her suspicions are raised but she knows she can’t act without firm evidence and finding that will unwittingly put her and members of her team in deadly danger . . . .  This is an edge of your seat, fascinating read with great characters and a plot with many threads skilfully interwoven to create an intriguing police investigation and enthralling read. It truly is a gritty crime thriller, one that lives up to the author’s aim of making the reader think and it is one I thoroughly enjoyed. I have no hesitation in highly recommending it and am looking forward to reading sequels involving this brilliant team in future.

I requested and was gifted a copy of this book and this is my honest review after choosing to read it.

 

Synopsis:

Meet Zoe Finch, West Midlands Police’s newest Detective Inspector. She’s outspoken, ambitious, and damaged. And she’s working a case that could make her career, or cost her everything…

Fresh from the success of the Canary investigation into depravity and corruption at the highest levels, Zoe has attracted attention. Not least from Assistant Chief Constable Bryn Jackson.

But when Jackson is brutally murdered on the night of his retirement party, Zoe is dragged into a case that’s deeply personal.

All the evidence points to the victim’s downtrodden wife, who has secrets of her own. But Zoe begins to suspect all isn’t as it seems. Could Jackson’s death be linked to the Canary case? And what is her new boss, DCI David Randle, hiding?

Seeking out the truth will force Zoe to confront her own past and put her career, and her team’s lives, on the line.

Deadly Wishes is a gritty crime thriller perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Caroline Mitchell, and the BBC’s Line of Duty.      

Purchase Links

UK – https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B088HHCPZ7

US – https://www.amazon.com/dp/B088HHCPZ7

 

Author Bio –

My name’s Rachel McLean and I write thrillers that make you think.

What does that mean?

In short, I want my stories to make your pulse race and your brain tick.

Do you often get through a thriller at breakneck pace but are left with little sense of what the book was really about? Do you sometimes read literary fiction but just wish something would damn well happen?

My books aim to fill that gap.

If you’d like to know more about my books and receive extra bonus content, please join my book club at rachelmclean.com/bookclub. I’ll send you a weekly email with news about my writing research and progress, stories and bonus content for each book. And I’ll let you know when my books are on offer.

 

Social Media Links –

https://www.facebook.com/rachelmcleanwrites/

https://twitter.com/rachelmcwrites

https://www.instagram.com/rachelmcwrites/

https://rachelmclean.com/

 

Follow the tour:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: