splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

My #Review for Memories of Wild Rose Bay by Susanne O’Leary – lovely Irish community and romance

 

Title: Memories of Wild Rose Bay

Series: Sandy Cove #5

Author: Susanne O’Leary

Publisher: Bookouture

Pub Date  

Pages: 261

Rating: 4.5/5*

 

My Review:

What a lovely story this proved to be, with a great setting in a beautiful small, coastal community and plenty of fantastic characters.

Kate O’Rourke is moving to Sandy Cove as part of her training to become a GP. She’s following in her father’s footsteps as he was a GP and this village is where his family originally lived before moving to Dublin. Here, a local healer, Cormac O’Shea, has very different ideas about treatments for patients and the two soon have sparks flying with their different philosophies but there’s also mutual attraction there. Can they learn from each other? Will they dare trust each other? Will their love ever have a chance or will Kate move back to Dublin after her six month placement ends?

This is a heartwarming story and I have to say that Mick and Bridget are both brilliant secondary characters. The local beliefs regarding the seventh son of the seventh son, the way that sometimes old remedies work best, the revealing of family histories and life in this close knit Irish community are all key elements in this gorgeous read. This is the fifth book in this series and I can honestly say it works well as a standalone as I seem to have missed out on the earlier books, something I hope to remedy in future. I’ll definitely be looking out for more by this author and in this series in future.

I requested and was gifted a copy of this book and this is my honest review after thoroughly enjoying reading it.

Synopsis:

A feel-good love story about taking chances and finding yourself, set under the endless, twinkling stars of the Wild Atlantic Way.

When Kate O’Rourke takes up a temporary position as a doctor in Sandy Cove, she hopes spending time in the place where her father was from will help her find herself again. Ever since his passing she has felt lost, but she imagines the calming sound of the sea on the Irish coast will allow her to heal.

Kate immediately feels at home in the old surgery, and as she takes walks beside the camellia bushes along Wild Rose Bay and meets every resident in the tiny village, she feels like this is where she’s meant to be. And when she’s told about local healer Cormac O’Shea, she’s excited to learn even more about the history of the area, and meet the man who every woman in town says is so charming.

But Kate quickly realises that she and Cormac have different ideas about how their patients should be treated. Kate is efficient and well-organised, whilst Cormac is wild and spontaneous, passionate about his ancestors’ reliance on Irish healing. And their differences cause more sparks than Kate is prepared to admit.

Just as Kate and Cormac begin to understand one another, Kate’s old life threatens to call her away from Sandy Cove forever. And she is finally forced to decide what life she wants to lead, and what kind of person she wants to be…

A beautiful story about finding love in Ireland, Memories of Wild Rose Bay is a gorgeously uplifting read. Fans of Debbie Macomber, Sheila O’Flanagan and Mary Alice Monroe won’t stop turning the pages.

 

Buy Links:         

Amazon: https://geni.us/B086XCW784Social

Apple: https://apple.co/2XArBNB

Kobo: https://bit.ly/3acoJJz

Google: https://bit.ly/2RDwems

 

Author Bio:

Susanne O’Leary is the bestselling author of more than twenty novels, mainly in the romantic fiction genre. She has also written three crime novels and two in the historical fiction genre. She has been the wife of a diplomat (still is), a fitness teacher and a translator. She now writes full-time from either of two locations, a ramshackle house in County Tipperary, Ireland or a little cottage overlooking the Atlantic in Dingle, County Kerry. When she is not scaling the mountains of said counties, or keeping fit in the local gym, she keeps writing, producing a book every six months.

Visit Susanne at her website, http://www.susanne-oleary.co.uk  or her blog, http://bit.ly/11F4e4S
Find her on Facebook, http://on.fb.me/1A2NAbr and on Twitter, http://bit.ly/1rH67dK

Follow the tour:

2 comments on “My #Review for Memories of Wild Rose Bay by Susanne O’Leary – lovely Irish community and romance

  1. carhicks
    August 11, 2020

    This one sounds like it is right up my alley. Wonderful review Elaine. I was worried about reading this one as it was #5 in a series. Good to know it can be read as a standalone.

    Like

    • bicted
      August 13, 2020

      I think you’d love reading it, Carla, fantastic read and it might tempt you to read the others, too!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: