splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Gorgeous read – Under a Siena Sun by TA Williams

Lucy needed a change of scene. She didn’t expect the change of a lifetime.

Doctors Without Borders has been Lucy Young’s life for the past four years. After being rescued from a conflict zone, she’s making a change from saving lives under gunfire to practising medicine in safe, serene Siena.

Now treating wealthy patients at a private clinic, she’s never felt less comfortable. She’s used to helping those in dire need – not those in need of a nip and tuck. Her turmoil grows when she encounters injured tennis star David Lorenzo, whose smiles make Lucy forget her aversion to the rich.

She’s soon falling for the sportsman but is she losing herself in this world of excess? All she’s ever wanted was to help the underprivileged, so can her future lie in Siena at the clinic – with David?

This sunny romance is the perfect summer escape for fans of Lucy Coleman and Alex Brown.

My Review:

What an action packed start this book has – wow! This story starts with the dramatic evacuation of Doctor Lucy Young and two of her colleagues from the hospital they have been working in that is now in the midst of a war zone. After four years working as a surgeon for Doctors Without Borders she’s more than ready for some R&R and travels to Siena for her friend’s wedding. Whilst at the wedding she is called upon to help an injured patient at a local private clinic. This leads to her being offered a job there, something she’s reticent about accepting as it goes against her ethics but, as her previous boss pointed out, the sick need treating and regardless of the size of their wealth they are still patients. With a local journalist, a cheating ex who is now a colleague and even a wealthy, attractive patient all vying for her, maybe there will be love being prescribed for this doctor soon, but just who will win her heart?

This is a brilliant book to escape into but do be prepared to have your taste buds tickled by all the delicious descriptions of the food that definitely had my mouth watering! I was getting concerned at the lack of the author’s trademark inclusion of a labrador character to start with but don’t worry, there are many of them with siblings, their parents and a new litter in this story. The author knows this area of Italy well and brings it vividly to life in the imagination of the reader – as usual! The characters are believable and it feels like you really get to know them as the story progresses. It deals sensitively with the problems associated with dealing with dramatic, life changing events and the impact of such events on the person concerned. There are plenty of twists and turns to keep you guessing and the ending is superb. It is a fantastic read to escape into and one that I didn’t want to put down until I’d finished it, meaning I really have absolutely no hesitation in highly recommending this book and I eagerly await reading more from this author in future.

Thank you to Canelo and NetGalley for the copy of this book which I have reviewed honestly and voluntarily.

Purchase Links

http://mybook.to/SienaSun

https://www.kobo.com/gb/en/ebook/under-a-siena-sun

Author Bio –

I’m a man. And a pretty old man as well. I did languages at university a long time ago and then lived and worked in France and Switzerland before going to Italy for seven years as a teacher of English. My Italian wife and I then came back to the UK with our little daughter (now long-since grown up) where I ran a big English language school for many years. We now live in a sleepy little village in Devonshire. I’ve been writing almost all my life but it was only seven years ago that I finally managed to find a publisher who liked my work enough to offer me my first contract.

The fact that I am now writing romantic comedy is something I still find hard to explain. My early books were thrillers and historical novels. Maybe it’s because there are so many horrible things happening in the world today that I feel I need to do my best to provide something to cheer my readers up. My books provide escapism to some gorgeous locations, even if travel to them is currently difficult.

Social Media Links –

Website: www.tawilliamsbooks.com

Twitter: https://www.twitter.com/tawilliamsbooks

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/TrevorWilliamsBooks/

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: