splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

The Last Charm by Ella Allbright

A moving and heartwarming love story perfect for fans of Me Before You and One Day in December…

Leila’s charm bracelet tells a story of love, a story of loss, a story of hope.

This is the story of her … and the story of Jake.

When Leila Jones loses her precious charm bracelet and a stranger finds it, she has to tell the story of how she got the charms to prove she’s the owner. Each and every one is a precious memory of her life with Jake.

So Leila starts at the beginning, recounting the charms and experiences that have led her to the present. A present she never could have expected when she met Jake nearly twenty years ago…

 

My Review

This is a really difficult book to review for a variety of reasons – the main one being that I don’t want to give away any spoilers and it would be just too easy to inadvertently do that!

The story starts with an exchange of emails as Caitlin has found the charm bracelet that holds charms connected to memorable events in the life of Leila Jones, making it extra special to Leila. To prove it is hers, Leila agrees to tell Caitlin about the charms on it. Then the story becomes more like a memoir, sharing how Leila was given the bracelet and each of the charms over the following fifteen or so years. This follows Leila through all the traumatic teenage years, the problems she had after her Mum left her and her Dad, complete with rebellious actions and snarky attitude.

One of the constants amongst this is the boy who moved into her old home, Jake, and to me he’s the real star of this story. He’s staunch, resilient, determined – and absolutely nothing like his abusive father. How he works hard to escape his situation and keeps coming back to Leila, despite her reactions and attitude, well, he must have the patience of a saint despite those who always assume the worst of him. As for his father, I daren’t write what I’d like to have happened to him from the very beginning of the story!

I struggled with some parts of this memoir but have to admit that the ending is traumatic and genuinely had me in tears. It is a poignant and emotive read, exploring memories, assumptions, the past and relationships – good and bad. I really disliked Leila at times but the author’s skilful writing kept me turning the pages. I actually decided at one point that this book is a bit like marmite – one you’ll either love reading or Leila’s actions and attitude will totally ruin your enjoyment of it. However, I recommend you keep going to the dramatic and emotive ending and hope you hate it as much as I did (in a good way!)

Thank you to Harper Collins / One More Chapter and NetGalley for the copy of this book which I have reviewed honestly and voluntarily.

Purchase Links

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Charm-Bracelet-Ella-Allbright-ebook/dp/B0843NJXJQ

https://play.google.com/store/books/details/Ella_Allbright_The_Charm_Bracelet?id=N3zLDwAAQBAJ

 

Author Bio

A self-confessed reading addict, Ella Allbright writes commercial women’s fiction set in her beautiful home county of Dorset. Her first novel in this genre, The Charm Bracelet will be published in August 2020 by One More Chapter, an imprint of HarperCollins, and she’s currently hard at work on her next book. Ella is represented by agent Hattie Grünewald at The Blair Partnership, who represent J.K. Rowling.

Ella also writes as Nikki Moore, the author of the popular #LoveLondon romance series. A number of the novellas featured in the Top 100 short story charts on Kobo and the Top 20 in the Amazon UK bestsellers Holiday chart, and in 2018 the collection was released in Italy. Her first published work was the short story A Night to Remember in the best selling Mills & Boon / RNA anthology Truly, Madly, Deeply. Her debut romance Crazy, Undercover, Love was shortlisted for the RNA Joan Hessayon Award 2015.

When not writing or reading, she can be found working in her HR day job, walking the family’s cute beagle puppy or watching a Netflix series!

You can connect with Ella/Nikki on:

            @NikkiMoore_Auth        

             facebook.com/NikkiMooreWrites

             amazon.co.uk/Nikki-Moore

             nikkimooreauthor.wordpress.com

She also vlogs about how to get published as ‘Author By The Sea’ on her YouTube channel at https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCQNV3lWENgnIRG4NWejSjmQ

 

Giveaway to Win Dorset and Reading themed goodies to celebrate The Last Charm by Ella Allbright (UK Only)

First Prize

Books Make Me Happy/TLC Branded Mug

Keepsake Bracelet for Readers

Lulworth Chocolate Bar

Mermaid metal bookmark

TLC Postcards

PLUS mystery prize

 

Second Prize

Lulworth Chocolate Bar 

I love Durdle Door chocolate lollipop

Sunshine metal bookmark

TLC Postcards

PLUS mystery prize

 

Third Prize

Lulworth Chocolate Bar

I love Lulworth chocolate lollipop

Starry Sky metal bookmark

TLC Postcards

PLUS mystery prize

 

*Terms and Conditions –UK entries welcome.  Please enter using the link to the Rafflecopter box below.  The winner will be selected at random via Rafflecopter from all valid entries and will be notified by Twitter and/or email. If no response is received within 7 days then Rachel’s Random Resources reserves the right to select an alternative winner. Open to all entrants aged 18 or over.  Any personal data given as part of the competition entry is used for this purpose only and will not be shared with third parties, with the exception of the winners’ information. This will passed to the giveaway organiser and used only for fulfilment of the prize, after which time Rachel’s Random Resources will delete the data.  I am not responsible for despatch or delivery of the prize.

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/33c69494386/?

Follow the tour:

Many thanks to Rachel’s Random Resources for providing materials for this post and organising the tour and giveaway associated with it.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: