splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

My #Review of the delightful Hopeful Hearts At Glendale Hall by Victoria Walters #Series #BlogTour

I’ve thoroughly enjoyed the previous two books in this series so jumped at the opportunity to join in the blog tour for this book, too – read on to find out more about it, its talented author and my review.

 

What happens when love takes you to unexpected places?   

Heather Douglas appears to have it all. But living on a farm in the Scottish Highlands with her partner, Rory Fraser, all while bringing up their adorable toddler, Harry, isn’t easy. As a former librarian, Heather is worried that she’ll never fully fit into life on Fraser Farm. And after the death of her beloved mum five years ago, Heather feels lost, as well as guilty for holding back accepting Rory’s marriage proposal because she can’t imagine her wedding without her mother.

So when ex-boyfriend, Stewart, appears in the village of Glendale, it’s a shock to the system. The man who broke her heart years ago now has big plans for the neighbouring farm and wants Heather to be part of the development. Knowing that she’s living a very different life to the one they had planned at university leaves Heather wondering if she has made the right choices since she and Stewart broke up. Especially when things start to go very wrong on the farm …

This Christmas, Heather will need to face her fears and let go of the past or risk losing everything. She will need love, faith, and a whole lot of hope!

Return to the beautiful Highlands village of Glendale with the latest book in the bestselling Glendale series – the perfect cosy, uplifting, romantic read for fans of Heidi Swain, Milly Johnson and Holly Martin.

My Review:

Coming Home to Glendale Hall and New Beginnings at Glendale Hall had introduced many of the characters involved in this delightful Scottish Highland community, including the hero and heroine of this sequel. Heather Douglas may well seem to have everything she could dream of but she’s so anxious about everything she’s in danger of ruining it all! Fortunately her loving partner, Rory Fraser, is much more easy going and is brilliant at helping calm her down. However, it is winter and the farm is struggling and there’s lots of hard work needed. Heather is struggling dealing with the animals, worries about  their son, Harry, getting hurt and is still grieving for her Mum, who died five years ago. When her ex, Stewart, contacts her to share his plans for developing a golf course and hotel on the farm neighbouring theirs. He makes her reconsider her choices . . . . offering her a job working with him on the development. Will she decide to give him a second chance? Is she in danger of losing all she currently has? What is Stewart really after?

I have to confess that I really didn’t like Heather at the start of the story, until I realised that she was just so anxious and couldn’t believe she was good enough. That’s when I could sympathise with her dilemmas. There’s tremendous character growth in this story – as Heather’s issues are dealt with sensitively showing how support from our nearest and dearest can help overcome the situations life puts us in. I really enjoyed how her relationship with the taciturn Angus developed, too – and the flashbacks that explained why some things trigger her insecurities. By the end of the story she’d proved herself more capable than she’d ever thought possible – especially taking charge when there’s a fire and dealing with animals.  There are also absolutely loads of laughs, too, in this story with a great community, fantastic friends, true love and an inspiring letter together with a manipulator, secrets, history and a future with new opportunities.

I really enjoyed escaping back to this superb community and catching up with everything that has been happening there. I can’t wait to virtually go back there and hope there will be further books in this series in future. This is my honest review after voluntarily reading this book.

Purchase Links

Amazon https://amzn.to/2Y6P1dt

Apple https://apple.co/3emKwBn   

Kobo https://bit.ly/37AMc7D

 

Author Bio –

Victoria Walters writes up-lifting and inspiring stories. She’s the author of three novels, THE SECOND LOVE OF MY LIFE, SUMMER AT THE KINDNESS CAFÉ, and COMING HOME TO GLENDALE HALL. She has been chosen for WHSmith Fresh Talent and shortlisted for an RNA award. Victoria was also picked as an Amazon Rising Star, and her books have won wide reader acclaim.

Victoria is a full-time author. She lives in Surrey with her cat Harry, and loves books, clothes, music, going out for tea and cake, and posting photos on Instagram.

Find out more about Victoria by following on Instagram at @vickyjwalters, on Twitter at @Vicky_Walters or by visiting her blog at:https://victoria-writes.com/.

Follow the tour:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: