splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

My #Review for My Christmas Number One by Leonie Mack – fun, musical, festive read

There’s nothing quite like a Christmas love story, to get you in the mood for celebrating…     

Cara doesn’t do sexy and she only does ‘Happy Christmas’ under duress. She is, after all, a serious musician, and her stubborn streak is born from her struggle to recover from a serious injury.

Javi lives for escapist fun – in his music, and in his life – especially since he’s always failed at life’s more serious challenges, including marriage and fatherhood.

Javi and Cara are forced to record a Christmas single together, but neither of them have plans to spend any more time with each other than they absolutely have to. With Christmas traditions that couldn’t be more different, and outlooks on life that are worlds apart, the chemistry just shouldn’t work. But the magic of Christmas can bring even opposites together…

From the snowy beauty of London at Christmas, to the candle-lit magic of Javi’s traditional family celebrations, let Leonie Mack whisk you away on a memorable festive adventure. Perfect for fans of Trisha Ashley, Mandy Baggot and Holly Martin.

My Review:

With music, travel, healing and love this is a fantastic contemporary romance. Cara is a professional musician who is required by her record company to feature on a record being made by Javia. Christmas is a time of sad memories and associations for Cara, and the festival has dire connotations for her and her father. When Cara listens to a demo of the song, she records two responses – one sticking to the original and the other putting her own twist to it. Neither plan to spend more time together but making the promotional video and television interviews bring these very opposite performers together and the dynamics between them prove magnetic. However, he’s a Columbian living in Miami and has a reputation for being into fun, not responsible, even though he’s the father of a twelve year old daughter. Can Christmas, travel and love help these two heal and find love together?

This is a story where traumatic events from the past have repercussions in the present for both main characters and their families. The story deals with some associated issues, including mental health, in a sensitive and sympathetic manner. It is a heartwarming story, an amazing adventure and great read that I thoroughly enjoyed. The places and events visited are brought to life in the story and I particularly enjoyed learning about the special one they attended in Javi’s home town. There are fun times with dancing and singing, family dramas and romance in this delightful story.

Thank you to the publishers for the copy of this book which I have voluntarily read and honestly reviewed.

Purchase Links –https://amzn.to/3dBg995

Author Bio –

Leonie Mack is a debut romantic novelist. Having lived in London for many years her home is now in Germany with her husband and three children. Leonie loves train travel, medieval towns, hiking and happy endings!

Social Media Links –

Instagram – https://www.instagram.com/leoniejmack

Twitter  https://www.twitter.com/LeonieMAuthor

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/LeonieJMack

Mailing list sign up – https://bit.ly/LeonieMackNewsletter

Follow the tour:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: