splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Autumn Skies Over Ruby Falls by Holly Martin

Confession time . . . . I just found this post in my Draft folder! So sorry I didn’t post it during the tour for this book but it is a lovely read, a great story to escape into and well worthy of being posted again now!

My Review:

Clover Phillips is back on Jewel Island after having her self belief and confidence devastated by the man she thought she would marry. After discovering how he’d fooled her she’s adamant she can’t trust anyone with her heart again. However, Angel Mazzeo has attracted her since they first met and he’s proved patient and considerate, keeping in touch with her for the last six months despite his world travels. Now he’s back and fate has him staying in her home, Ruby Cottage, using her spare bedroom. Can she learn to trust him? Will he be worthy of that trust? Should they have a brief fling? Will they be able to stay friends if they do? So many questions, so many disastrous memories to overcome. You’ll just have to read it for yourself to find out!

This is a brilliant sequel to Sunrise Over Sapphire Bay and I thoroughly enjoyed escaping to this fantastic location and community again. It was a pleasure to discover how the islanders and hoteliers are working together and the Hallowe’en festivities sound fantastic! There are new, mouth-watering flavours of ice cream, delicious baked goods, tasty treats and warming beverages, too. The turmoil of the two main characters is superbly portrayed, you really have to feel for them and it is easy to relate to them. There are a variety of issues sensitively included in the story, including how these have impacted on the characters. It is a lovely story of not letting who hurt you have to power to prevent you enjoying life in future, about giving others a chance and making the most of your opportunities to find lasting love. Sylvia is a great secondary character and she gives inspirational pearls of wisdom to help Clover be brave. There are some fantastic laugh out loud incidents included in the story that are guaranteed to put a smile on your face – especially ones involving Angel ballet dancing! I can’t wait to read future books about these sisters, their loves and Jewel Island  together with anything else from this talented author.

Thank you to the author for a copy of this book which I have voluntarily read and honestly reviewed.

Synopsis:

Get swept away to the sparkling Cornish coast with the stunning new novel from bestselling author Holly Martin. Autumn Skies Over Ruby Falls is the perfect romantic treat to snuggle up with this autumn.

Clover Philips is exactly where she’s meant to be – back home on Jewel Island teaching dance to the guests at the beautiful Sapphire Bay Hotel that she co-owns with her sisters Skye and Aria. Her life is complete, except for one thing…

When Clover left London she also left behind a devastating betrayal. She hasn’t been able to date anyone since, let alone allow herself to fall in love. What she needs is a casual fling to ease herself back into romance. And as luck would have it, the very handsome Angel Mazzeo is back in town.

The chemistry between Clover and Angel has been undeniable ever since he first arrived on Jewel Island six months ago. And though content to be her friend till now, Angel is more than willing to help Clover find her dating feet again.

It should be easy to keep things carefree when love is off the table, but when every moment is magical what started as casual soon becomes something much deeper. Will Clover and Angel find the courage to tell each other how they really feel? And is Clover ready to do the one thing she swore she’d never do again, fall in love?

Perfect for fans of Jill Mansell, Lucy Diamond and Veronica Henry, this unforgettable romance is guaranteed to make you smile and melt your heart.

 

Sunrise over Sapphire Bay

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: