splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

Intriguing #Crime #Murder #Mystery – Final Second by John Ryder #BookOnTour

 

Title: Final Second      

Author:  John Ryder  

Publisher: Bookouture

Published: 05/10/2020

Pages: 341

Rating: 5/5*

BUY LINK:  https://geni.us/B08B8ZRJ92Social

 

Description:

Sometimes it takes a stranger to find a killer…

In a small farming town in rural Wisconsin—where generations of families have lived in peace for decades—no one expects trouble to come calling.

But then a farmer’s beautiful young wife is found brutally murdered, with a chilling calling card that suggests she’s just the first victim of a serial killer. And the FBI elect not to send one of their own. Instead they send a stranger to town—former Royal Marine turned mercenary, Grant Fletcher. And they’re giving him no choice. Find the killer. Because we know what you’ve done.

With the threat of the executioner’s chair hanging over him, Fletcher finds himself in an impossible situation—and a race against time. Catch a murderer whose killings are escalating with every day that passes. Or face certain death…

Fans of Lee Child’s Jack Reacher, Robert Ludlum’s Jason Bourne and David Baldacci’s Amos Decker will love the Grant Fletcher series.

 

My Review:

This is the second book in a very different crime thriller series and I’m really enjoying reading it – I can’t wait to read more investigations involving ex-Royal Marine Grant Fletcher and FBI Special Agent Zoey Quadrado.

In this story, Zoey’s lifelong friend has been brutally murdered and left with #1 carved into her skin, Zoey is in the middle of a case and can’t go home to investigate so suggests Grant be sent instead. This is the opportunity her bosses have been waiting for, a chance to test Grant . . . with the threat of him being found guilty of first degree murder if he doesn’t bring the perpetrator to justice and the promise that his daughter will be supported through a top University if he does.

As Grant gets to know the folk in Zoey’s hometown community, he has a very mixed reception. However, with no badge of authority and his reliance on Zoey providing details of reports and discoveries made by the police, this is no easy task. Whilst he’s seeking to discover just why Zoey’s friend was murdered and by whom, there are more victims turning up . . . . Can Grant and Zoey bring the killer to justice before there are more victims? The killer is getting close to Zoey’s family farm, can they protect them? Just why are members of this rural community being targetted?

This is an action packed, enthralling page turner and great sequel to First Shot. Whilst both Grant and Zoe are introduced in that book and this book continues their story, I suspect it could still be read as a standalone – but that’s a great read, too. I’m intrigued now as to just what Soter has planned for these two and can’t wait to read more in this fascinating series.

Thank you to Bookouture and NetGalley for my copy of this book which I have voluntarily read and honestly reviewed.

You can read my review of First Shot by following this link.

 

Author Bio:

John Ryder is a former farmworker and joiner. He’s turned his hand to many skills to put food on the table and clothes on his back. A life-long bibliophile, he eventually summoned the courage to try writing himself, and his Grant Fletcher novels have drawn inspiration from authors such as Lee Child, Tom Cain, Zoe Sharp and Matt Hilton. When it comes to future novels, he says he has more ideas than time to write them.

When not writing, John enjoys spending time with his son, reading and socialising with friends. A fanatic supporter of his local football team, he can often be found shouting encouragement to men much younger and fitter than he is.

Author Social Media Links:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/JohnRyderAuthor/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/JohnRyder101

Follow the tour:

One comment on “Intriguing #Crime #Murder #Mystery – Final Second by John Ryder #BookOnTour

  1. Pingback: Intriguing Fast Paced #Thriller – Third Kill by John Ryder | splashesintobooks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: