splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

 Fabulous Festive read – If Every Day Was Christmas by Donna Ashcroft #Review #Christmas #BookOnTour

 

Title:  If Every Day Was Christmas

Author:   Donna Ashcroft

Publisher: Bookouture

Publication Day: October 9th 2020

Pages: 236

Rating: 5/5*

 

 

Description:

Snow is falling, fires are crackling merrily, and Lockton tradition has everyone hanging a promise they’re determined to keep this Christmas on the tree in the village square…

Meg Scott has promised to make a success of her first solo Christmas. She runs a year-round Christmas shop in the little Scottish village, and is a fan of all things mulled, sparkly and festive. So when her warring family shows up on her doorstep, ready to spread discord and tension, Meg is determined not to let them ruin her favourite time of the year.

Meanwhile, Christmas-hating Tom Riley-Clark has been called to the Highlands to help his old friend at The Apple Cross Inn. He’s ready to work hard and has no time for mince pies, tinsel or hanging a promise on the tree: the thought of every day being Christmas is his worst nightmare, and you wouldn’t catch him dead buying a bauble. So everyone is surprised when Christmas-loving Meg and grinch Tom start to get cozy under the mistletoe.

But Tom has a big secret about his past, and in a small town like Lockton it’s hard to keep anything hidden for long. Will everything fall apart when Meg discovers who he really is? The pair are about to learn the hard way that some promises are impossible to keep…

It’s time to curl up for an enchanting festive romance about learning to trust yourself, taking chances and not being afraid to fall in love. Perfect for fans of Nicola May, Debbie Macomber and Milly Johnson.

 

My Review:

It doesn’t suggest this is the second book in a series but I suspect it is as it follows on so well from The Little Village of New Starts and has some of the same characters involved. Both stories are set in the Scottish Highland village of Lockton and both are fantastic reads IMHO.

This story has Meg Scott planning to spend her first Christmas in the village rather than going to stay with her dysfunctional family. She runs a Christmas shop that is open all year round and she loves all things festive, often dressing up as an elf. However, when her Mum and sister turn up planning to stay, Meg knows her fun festive feelings are in danger of being replaced with the usual family dramas.

Tom Riley-Clark is visiting the village to help his friend by bartending at The Apple Cross inn. He is the antithesis of Meg as he hates the idea of Christmas and anything to do with the festivities. However, they do say that opposites attract and that certainly seems to be the case for this couple . . . but he has a huge secret that he’s not sharing, one about his past that could stop their developing relationship before it has any chance to grow.

With burst pipes causing floods, demonstrations of community spirit, friendship developing and fresh starts beginning, this is a lovely story of community, dreams, friendship and romance. There are several romances, including a second chance one, and it is a heartwarming read that is delightful to escape into – it even has a reindeer to add to the festivities!

Thank you to Bookouture and NetGalley for my copy of this book which I have voluntarily read and honestly reviewed after thoroughly enjoying reading it!

Buy  Links:      

https://geni.us/B08GM3YFHZSocial

Here is a link to my 5* review of The Little Village of New Starts.

Author Bio:

Donna Ashcroft was born in London and grew up in Buckinghamshire. She went to university in Lancashire and, among other things, worked as a copywriter, buyer, waitress, secretary and marketing manager.

Donna wrote novels for over ten years before being published. She is a member of the Romantic Novelists Association and was a joint winner of the Katie Fforde Bursary in 2017.
Donna loves a happy ending and is never happier than when she’s escaping into a romance novel or movie. When she’s not reading or writing she’ll probably be found hoovering … or negotiating with her teenagers about who is doing the washing up.

Author Social Media Links:

Website: www.donna-writes.co.uk

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DonnaAshcroftAuthor/

Twitter:  https://twitter.com/Donnashc

 

Follow the tour:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: