splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

The Forgotten Gift by Kathleen McGurl – superb dual timeline family drama and mystery

What would you do to protect the ones you love?

1861. George’s life changes forever the day he meets Lucy. She’s beautiful and charming, and he sees a future with her that his position as the second son in a wealthy family has never offered him. But when Lucy dies in a suspected poisoning days after rejecting George, he finds himself swept up into a murder investigation. George loved Lucy; he would never have harmed her. So who did?

Now. On the surface Ca

ssie is happy with her life: a secure job, good friends, and a loving family. When a mysterious gift in a long-forgotten will leads her to a dark secret in her family’s history she’s desperate to learn more. But the secrets in Cassie’s family aren’t all hidden in the past, and her research will soon lead her to a revelation much closer to home – and which will turn everything she knows on its head…

Discover a family’s darkest secrets today. Perfect for fans of The Girl in the Letter, The Beekeeper’s Promise and The Forgotten Village!

 

My Review:

I’m convinced that Kathleen McGurl is the Queen of dual timeline family dramas – and reading this fantastic book only reinforced that. Cassie is researching into her family history and has found some mysterious aspects that she’d never expected. However, as she finds out more about the past she’s also having to face revelations about her own family, some of which could have life changing consequences on their relationships . . . .

This story is told from the contemporary point of view of Cassie and the historical journal of George. They both have discoveries to make, surprises to uncover, relationships that change and decisions to make. The two threads from the different timelines are cleverly linked and woven together into an enthralling read that kept me turning the pages to discover what happened next. I found it an intriguing and fascinating read and have no hesitation in highly recommending it to anyone who enjoys historical mysteries, family dramas, romances or any combination of these genres!

Thank you for my copy of this book which I have voluntarily read and honestly reviewed.

Purchase Links

UK –  https://www.amazon.co.uk/Forgotten-Gift-Gripping-unputdownable-historical-ebook/dp/B08GHDTHWZ/

US – https://www.amazon.com/Forgotten-Gift-Gripping-unputdownable-historical-ebook/dp/B08GHDTHWZ/

Author Bio –

Kathleen McGurl lives in Bournemouth with her husband. She has two sons who have both now left home. She always wanted to write, and for many years was waiting until she had the time. Eventually she came to the bitter realisation that no one would pay her for a year off work to write a book, so she sat down and started to write one anyway. Since then she has published several novels with HQ and self-published another. She has also sold dozens of short stories to women’s magazines, and written three How To books for writers. After a long career in the IT industry she became a full time writer in 2019. 

Social Media Links –

Website: https://kathleenmcgurl.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/KathleenMcGurl/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/KathMcGurl

Follow the tour:

One comment on “The Forgotten Gift by Kathleen McGurl – superb dual timeline family drama and mystery

  1. Carla
    November 17, 2020

    I have not read anything by Kathleen McGurl, but I do love dual timelines. I will add her to my authors to watch list. Wonderful and enticing review Elaine.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: