splashesintobooks

Somewhere to review books I'm reading without giving away any spoilers!

My #Review for the intriguing The Failsafe Query (Sean Richardson #1) by Michael Jenkins

 

Title:  The Failsafe Query 

Series: Sean Richardson #1

Author: Michael Jenkins

Published: May 10th, 2020 (orig 14th June 2018)

Pages: 328

Rating: 4/5*

 

 

My Review:

This is an intriguing story involving espionage, intelligence, secrets, friends, enemies and lies. Sean Richardson was a successful intelligence agent until tragedy derailed him. After being rescued, he is tasked with using his skills and his old team to help find a potential whistleblower revealing secrets which would destroy many senior figures in the British government and in positions of power. The whistleblower has disappeared, can Sean and his team prevent those secrets being revealed and still keep themselves safe?

This is the first book in this series featuring Sean Richardson and the first section of chapters is, in effect, the background which takes place more than a decade earlier than the rest of the story. Filled with action packed adventures, skilled teamwork (including both dogs) and mystery, this is a fascinating spy thriller, a page turner that takes you around Europe and Asia.

Thank you to the author and Damppebbles for my copy of this book which I have voluntarily read and honestly reviewed.

 

Book Blurb:

‘Some secrets were meant to be buried forever. Until now.’

Sean Richardson, a disgraced former intelligence agent, is tasked to lead a team to search for a British intelligence officer on the cusp of exposing thousands of secrets to the media. It includes a long lost list of Russian moles embedded since the Cold War, one of whom remains a public favourite in the British parliamentary system.

The action moves with absorbing pace and intrigue across Central Asia and Europe as the puzzle begins to unfold through a deep hidden legacy. As Sean gets closer to the truth, senior figures are left to nurse their anxiety knowing that if the secret is revealed, it will destroy their lives.

On the verge of success, his eye is taken off the ball, and the Russians step forward ready to pounce.

Tense, fast paced, and insightful, The Failsafe Query twists and turns to a satisfyingly dramatic finale.

The first in a set of spy thrillers that have been expertly crafted with stunning plot lines, magnificent locations, and twists that leave you gasping for air. Perfect for fans of Frederick Forsyth, Robert Ludlum, Tom Clancy, and Scott Mariani. 

I have previously posted an interview with this author and information about the second book in this trilogy, The Kompromat Kill – find out more by following this link.

 

About Michael Jenkins:

I started climbing at 13, survived being lost in Snowdonia at 14, nearly drowned at 15, and then joined the Army at 16. Risk and adventure was built into my DNA and I feel very fortunate to have served the majority of my working career as an intelligence officer within Defence Intelligence, and as an explosive ordnance disposal officer and military surveyor within the Corps of Royal Engineers.

I was privileged to serve for twenty-eight years in the British Army as a soldier and officer, rising through the ranks to complete my service as a major. I served across the globe on numerous military operations as well as extensive travel and adventure on many major mountaineering and exploration expeditions that I led or was involved in.

I was awarded the Geographic Medal by the Royal Geographical Society for mountain exploration in 2003 and served on the screening committee of the Mount Everest Foundation charity for many years. It was humbling after so many years of service when I was awarded the MBE for services to counter-terrorism in 2007.

Social Media:

Twitter: https://twitter.com/FailsafeQuery

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/thefailsafethrillers/

Website: https://www.michaeljenkins.org/

Purchase Links:

Amazon UK: https://amzn.to/3eM9w5V

Amazon US: https://amzn.to/35gCfN1

Blackwells: https://bit.ly/3kje98F

Publishing Information:

Published in paperback and digital formats by Failsafe Thrillers on 20th May 2020

Follow the tour:

One comment on “My #Review for the intriguing The Failsafe Query (Sean Richardson #1) by Michael Jenkins

  1. damppebbles
    November 30, 2020

    Thank you for being part of the blog tour 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Monthly archive of posts

%d bloggers like this: